Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Cannot Repeat Commands With Learning Remote

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    3

    Default Cannot Repeat Commands With Learning Remote

    I've setup girder and my MCE remote control (MS Media Center Edition) to control Media Player Classic (and some other apps). Everything works perfectly.

    However, when I tried to transfer the MCE remote control commands to my Sony learning remote, I cannot repeat the same commands twice. For instance, if I hit volume up, it works. If I hit volume up again, nothing happens. If I press a different button AND THEN volume up again, it works.

    So basically, I cannot repeat multiple commands on my learning remote (which works perfectly with all my other gear).

    Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    11,560

    Default

    The MCE remote must be using RC 5 codes - which means each button produces 2 different ir codes which alternate. Not sure how you would solve this with your learning remote.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Well, I used logger and it only says that one event is sent. I don't know if this helps, but here is the event.

    Code:
    19:46:47.531	Thursday, November 11, 2004	EVENT:	Dev: 80	MCE000002B000
    Again, everything works fine otherwise.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    11,560

    Default

    You only see one event from the receiver...

    I would look in your learning remotes manual to see if the have anything on RC5 or visit www.remotecentral.com

  5. #5

    Default

    Okay... I gotta ask... why?

    Why do RC5 codes rotate like that?

    I don't get it... why make a remote that does this?

    There has to be a purpose... though I cant see it. I like remotes that "repeat" commands (x10 and ATI), but why alternate between 2 different codes?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Thanks Mike, I'll look into it. Keep up the good work!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    11,560

    Default

    I think its to keep track of discrete button presses

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •