PDA

View Full Version : Help with GlobalCaché 100 and Pioneer Plasma -- RS232

winnienet
March 30th, 2005, 02:56 AM
Hi,

I plan to use my GC-100 and Netremote software to control my Pioneer Plasma PDP-435HDE. I would like to use the RS232 port and not use IR. I know i must send certain commands to port 4999 or 5000, but how do i program this in a CCF file? And how do i know what commands to send to the plasma? I am a newbie so don't even know how to speak to the plasma via RS232. Please help me out?!
Is there standard software to read out the commands or to see what happens when u send certain commands?

As u can see a lot of questions...
please help me out?! :)

GreetZ Winnie

Wilhelm
March 30th, 2005, 06:11 AM
Hi Winnie,

I only see a connector that could be RS232 on the back panel, but it's labeled "service only". Are you sure there is any possibility to use it for normal operations?

Rob H
March 30th, 2005, 10:44 AM
It should be possible - it certainly is for the 503MXE :-

Pioneer 503MXE RS-232 codes (http://pioneer-customerrelations.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/pioneer.cfg/php/enduser/fattach_get.php?p_sid=IfRme3Bh&p_tbl=9&p_id=157&p_created=1026483801)

winnienet
April 4th, 2005, 09:31 AM
Hi Winnie,

I only see a connector that could be RS232 on the back panel, but it's labeled "service only". Are you sure there is any possibility to use it for normal operations?

That's right, it does say 'service only', but maybe it still is possible. Most customers won't use it for normal operations. I'd like to give it a try.
However, like i said, i don't know how...

GreetZ

Wilhelm
April 4th, 2005, 09:36 AM
If that is still all you can say after Rob provided you with the manual for the other Pioneer TV I think you should better stick with the IR.

Cheers

winnienet
April 8th, 2005, 02:08 AM
If that is still all you can say after Rob provided you with the manual for the other Pioneer TV I think you should better stick with the IR.

Cheers