PDA

View Full Version : Girder Vb.net Program

nosage
April 29th, 2005, 05:22 PM
Hello
I am a newbie to girder and to vb.net but I do understand the basics. I am trying to create a program in vb.net that is similar to a remote control. Its going to have buttons to control all of my electronic devices (tv, dvd, etc.). I have done several searchs on here and found out about the event.eve in the girder folder and something about a COM object. I am trying to figure out how I can excute commands in girder to emit the ir from vb.net. I am despirate and looking for anyway for this to happen. Even if I can execute keyboard shortcuts from vb.net that emit the ir from girder. Like i said i am a newbie, I am working on this for a school project. Anything that anyone can explain to me would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance.

Promixis
April 29th, 2005, 05:36 PM
You can use the Girder COM object or execute the event.exe program in Girder's directory (easiest). Just type event.exe for help.

Pass an eventstring that you want Girder to execute, attach it to the command you want to send.

nosage
May 3rd, 2005, 05:41 PM
Thank you for your reply. I have done research on event.exe and I guess I can go in that direction. I can get Eventstrings attached to the IR signals in Girder. I am using Tira 2.1 USB emitter/receiver. I am confused on what exactly the eventstrings are and how they work. When I click learn girder seems to want another ir code. Am I suppose to learn the same code over again. For instance, if its a play button relearn that very same play button from that remote control. I have looked up the girder help file and FAQ but I am still confused on how these eventstrings work. Again, anyway anyone can help would be greatly appreciated and as soon as I get something working I will post my program up here for other to use or become inspired by.

Promixis
May 3rd, 2005, 08:15 PM