PDA

View Full Version : PCTV Pro (41-key remote) solution!



schaduwmaster
October 13th, 2002, 03:55 PM
I use the generic serial plugin and it WORKS :smile:

Here are my settings:

Parity : None
Word size : 8
Stop bits : 1
Handshaking : Software
Baud rate : 4800

Then under the Recieve button:
Fixed Length: 12
Enable recieve timeout: 10
Enable modem events

Now, add a command to launch when Girder starts, and set that to change handshaking (RTS on)

It works fine, I havent tried repeating codes yet, but I'll figure it out :smile:

Freedom2u
October 13th, 2002, 03:55 PM
Do you think remotes with meny buttons needs the same trick?

http://www.nokia.com/multimedia/accessories/remotecontrol.html

I tried to run it on a Irman but the codes it transmitted were useless, certain patters could be found but I could not make heads or tails of it.
The remote has more than 40 buttons..

AlexBrukhoff
October 13th, 2002, 03:55 PM
I agree with schaduwmaster, but my settings is:

Settings -> Hardware plugins:
Generic serial support -> Settings:
1200,n,8,1. Handshaking:None
Receive: Fixed Length: 3
Enable receive timeout:yes/50
Enable modem events:yes
Add device prefix;yes Use name:yes
Translate bin/hex:yes

Settings -> Action plugins: Serial commands

I created a group called Startup
Added a multigroup and chose the event "On Open Girder"
Added the command:Plugin/Serial Commands
Settings for the command: Change handshaking: DTR on:no RTS on:yes [/b]

python
November 28th, 2002, 02:10 AM
where i can get plugin: Serial Command ?
or where i acn change HandShacking ?

arieses2000
February 11th, 2003, 10:08 AM
so is this solution for the PixelView TV Pro card remote ?
And where can i get this serial plugin ? I d/loaded 2 4rom this site, but it does not have ne handshaking options.

Thanks,

~aj~

doom
November 30th, 2003, 08:39 PM
so is this solution for the PixelView TV Pro card remote ?
And where can i get this serial plugin ? I d/loaded 2 4rom this site, but it does not have ne handshaking options.

Thanks,

~aj~ No its not PixelView. At least i dont think so.

PCTV Pro is a product of Pinnacle.

Redrum
November 11th, 2004, 05:47 PM
Hi i have downloaded SerialPlugin and installed.
Read your guide of how to config but i cant make it to work.
Dont under stand the part of making a "On Open Girder" event.

Is it posible for you to make a gml file that i can use?

Thanx for any help i can get.

marco75
September 4th, 2005, 09:56 AM
I have tried both of the suggested settings in the Generic Serial Plugin, but none of them detect any IR Events from the remote.

I have also tried sadman's plugin. Nothing.

There was mention of another plugin by Jurgen Heine. but I couldn't find that one at all.

Yes, I have unloaded all of the Pinnacle programs from memory (using task manager). including the one you can test the remote with. The remote tests OK with Pinnacle's software, but I can't get it to work with Girder AT ALL.

If someone knows where I can find Heine's plugin, I would greatly appreciate it.

marco75
September 14th, 2005, 01:07 AM
I use the generic serial plugin and it WORKS

I have tried to reproduce shaduwmaster's method, without success. So I thought, given Girder's complex interface, perhaps I made a mistake. I documented my every step on this webpage:

http://marco75.no-ip.info/mambo/content/view/42/46/

If you can spot my error, please reply to this post! Thanks!

Also, here's a snapshot of the remote I'm using. Is this the same 41 button model you were using?

etron
November 29th, 2005, 03:56 PM
Are you still having trouble with this remote? I have been using this remote with my MCE box for over 2 years, I can try to look up what I am using if needed.

marco75
November 30th, 2005, 11:55 PM
Are you still having trouble with this remote? I have been using this remote with my MCE box for over 2 years, I can try to look up what I am using if needed.

I switched from Girder to PCRemote. I find it much easier to understand the user interface in PCRemote. Have been using the Pinnacle with PCRemote + Meedio + PowerVCR for two months now, I'm fairly happy with the system, considering it's a Pentium III.

BTW, what's a MCE box? Same thing as a HTPC?

etron
December 1st, 2005, 07:17 AM
MCE = Windows Media Center based HTPC

Girder has a steep learning curve (something it looks like they are working on), but the things you can do with it are pretty cool!