PDA

View Full Version : Newbie needs some help

Robertsonland
January 7th, 2006, 08:42 PM
Hello,

I'm pretty new to the HTPC scene and need some advice. My current setup is using Zoomplayer, MyHD (via MyIRC) and that's pretty much it for the moment. I was hoping to control the HTPC via my Pronto TS1000 remote. I was planning to learn the codes for the MyHD Remote into the Pronto and the just use the pronto exclusively. However after reading a ton of messages tonight it looks like the MyIRC receiver isn't quite gonna work for everything I want to do now, much less down the road. I saw from a bunch of posts that irMan has conflicts with the MyIRC reciever (I couldn't tell if that was only the serial port connection or the USB one as well as I have the USB connection). Eventually I'll want to control music and other stuff from here but I need to get the Pronto running things soon to help that WAF get back into line with where it should be. If I want to run the MyIRC to control the MyHD MDP-130 what IR receiver (trying to stay as cheap as possible here, but also need to get it done soon) should I run to caputure the pronto codes for Zoomplayer to do what I need it to do? I saw the list of remotes on the girder page and I think Fry's sells one of them and I have a local Fry's here but will that Receiver transfer all IR codes regardless to the PC or only those that are for itself? Is there a way to get the MyIRC USB receiver to work at least for now with Girder?

Thanks all in advance for any help.

Lance

Promixis
January 8th, 2006, 10:25 AM
Lance, the usbuirt is great but $$. For less $$ look at the streamzap receiver (can use with other remotes) or an MCE receiver.

Robertsonland
January 8th, 2006, 11:42 AM
Thanks Mike.

I ordered the USB UIRT. After reading some other posts of using it for the macros instead of my pronto I like that idea. I hope his expected ship date of Jan 10 is good as then I hopefully should have it within a week and a half from now.

Thanks,