PDA

View Full Version : How do I send "[" to an application?



renierv
January 22nd, 2006, 12:45 PM
I've tried using the old G3 method as well as the new G4, neither works.
I thought I had it working back with Girder v3.3.9, but I'm unable to do so now.

I've tried variations of [, such as;
<[>
<OPEN_BRACKET>

But the best they output is "Unmatched Brackets".

I thought at first the application I was using was the cause, but trying to output the open bracket to notepad provided me the proof I needed that it is either application or user-related.

Any ideas?
Thanks for your time and assistance.

Van

Ron
January 22nd, 2006, 12:58 PM
I will check.

Ron
January 22nd, 2006, 05:21 PM
Fixed.

The next release will include this fix. For now here is a work-around.

In a script that runs on Girder startup do this



KeyWorkAroundB='&#91;'


then in the keyboard action where you would like that bracket do this:

[KeyWorkAroundB]

This will get you going now. Next release will allow this:



&#91;&#91; Girder 4.0.2

renierv
January 23rd, 2006, 06:11 AM
Great, Thanks Ron.
Tested and worked fine.
(I assume this method can be used for any other similar issues I encounter, right?)
This solution also introduces me to some other essential abilities that I did not know of, or make use of in the past.

When I first saw Girder 4.0, I thought the product had taken a step back in functionality, but now that I've had some more time to work with it I'm seeing that a lot of previous work around for things like "only do this if WindowX is in foreground", or other group/sectional conditionals are now of no use, because of the built-in abilities in the program. But at times, I do miss G3's user-interface layout (tree on left, and options to the right) and thast interfaces ease of use, But... this is probably just a personal preference/comfort issue. Otherwise... I'm liking v4+ alot. )

Thanks again, Ron.

Van

renierv
March 30th, 2006, 01:11 AM
Fixed.
The next release will include this fix. For now here is a work-around.
In a script that runs on Girder startup do this


KeyWorkAroundB='&#91;'


then in the keyboard action where you would like that bracket do this:
[KeyWorkAroundB]
This will get you going now. Next release will allow this:



&#91;&#91; Girder 4.0.2


FYI.... Girder 4.0.4 now and it still isn't working. I still need to use this workaround, Jon.

Van

renierv
March 30th, 2006, 01:16 AM
.....In a script that runs on Girder startup do this



And just how to I create this startup script from scratch?
I was lucky enough to find a sample within one of the girder sample GMLs last time, but can't find it again. Where it is in the selection window of commands/options?

Thanks,

Van

renierv
March 31st, 2006, 09:36 PM
bump. I was giving a solution in the past, which worked, but now can't replicate the solution because I can't find the above mentioned 'on girder startup' function.

Van

Ron
April 1st, 2006, 10:36 AM
You do no longer need the workaround. Simply entering [[ will type a single [ in the target window.

yaoge123
January 21st, 2008, 09:17 PM
Girder 4
[[ is ok.
but *[[ is not working.

How do it?

In a script that runs on Girder startup do this


Code:
KeyWorkAroundB='['