PDA

View Full Version : Itunes and Keyboard



hengy
March 12th, 2006, 04:36 PM
I've read the manual and been able to setup BeyondTv using girder and a Harmony remote. I have the basic idea down. I'm just having trouble with Itunes. I've created an event that will maximize the itunes window and minimize it with another event. Both work correctly when I do an F5 test. I can't seem to make them work after I've learned a keyboard keystroke for them. I don't know what's going on, any help would be appreciated.

Promixis
March 12th, 2006, 05:33 PM
you will have to play with targeting to get this working.

hengy
March 12th, 2006, 05:56 PM
you will have to play with targeting to get this working.

I have targeted Itunes and it show up correctly when I do a find.

Promixis
March 12th, 2006, 07:01 PM
you will have to play with targeting to get this working.

I have targeted Itunes and it show up correctly when I do a find.

try deselecting some of the items... ie only use class or app name

hengy
March 12th, 2006, 07:30 PM
you will have to play with targeting to get this working.

I have targeted Itunes and it show up correctly when I do a find.

try deselecting some of the items... ie only use class or app name

Tried that. Only selected app name. This is what I'm doing.
1. Set a command that under windows is set to maximize.
2. Learn event. Pressed learn event and the pressed F11 on keyboard to correspond to learned event. When I press F11, the action "Maximize window" will occur.
3. Tested using F5, it works.
4. Pressing F11 does not work.

Promixis
March 12th, 2006, 07:33 PM
can you install the logger and make sure the keypress is getting detected?

are you using the same targeting as the gml in the dowloads area?

hengy
March 12th, 2006, 07:57 PM
can you install the logger and make sure the keypress is getting detected?

are you using the same targeting as the gml in the dowloads area?


where do I get the logger?

Promixis
March 15th, 2006, 07:21 AM
can you install the logger and make sure the keypress is getting detected?

are you using the same targeting as the gml in the dowloads area?


where do I get the logger?

g3.3 plugin download.

hengy
March 15th, 2006, 09:12 AM
can you install the logger and make sure the keypress is getting detected?

are you using the same targeting as the gml in the dowloads area?


where do I get the logger?

g3.3 plugin download.

Would it be easier for me to transfer my settings to ver 4 and work from there? Is it an easier program to work with?

Promixis
March 15th, 2006, 09:42 AM
can you install the logger and make sure the keypress is getting detected?

are you using the same targeting as the gml in the dowloads area?


where do I get the logger?

g3.3 plugin download.

Would it be easier for me to transfer my settings to ver 4 and work from there? Is it an easier program to work with?

Yes, G4 is much easier to use, has a comprehensive manual, and is much easier for us to support.

Have a look at the Remote Mapping part of the manual for G4.

sdumas
March 21st, 2006, 08:58 PM
I have a similar problem with keys to be sent to an application - in my case it SageTV 4.

I create a simple key to send to SageTV ( in that case the key is "a"). When I press F5 nothing goes into the window. The window has been targetted and I tried the multiple combination of processes.

I have no problems sending keys to WordPad - I just can't make it work with SageTV 4.

Any ideas?

sdumas

Promixis
March 22nd, 2006, 08:36 AM
try just using the foreground window?

if not, the keyboard routines have been improved in g4