PDA

View Full Version : where can i get rs232 serial command

zendy
March 22nd, 2006, 01:40 AM
Hello i'm a newbie, can u point me to another forum or website which are provided the rs232 serial command for any device.
Sorry if this questions is kinda off topic, cause i'm getting frustrated to get the serial command for the device.

danward79
March 22nd, 2006, 02:32 AM
Your question is also quite broad! What is the device you wish to control, what version of girder are you using?

Every device is different, so you need to ellaborate a bit.

baretull
March 22nd, 2006, 04:01 PM
Hi, I'm kind of in the same situation. I'm building my first HTPC and want it to control the volume setting in my surround amplifier via RS232. The shop I bought the amplifier from will provide me with the codes I need.

However I'm not sure what version of Girder I need. I'll be using Win XP, Xlobby, ZoomPlayer and Foobar2000, as well as USB-UIRT and perhaps an RF sender to control lights. I won't be using any server or any other "advanced" options I can think of. Will the Standard version at about $50 be ok for me? And can I upgrade to Pro later without buying an all new licence if my needs should change later on?

Promixis
March 22nd, 2006, 04:16 PM
Hi, I'm kind of in the same situation. I'm building my first HTPC and want it to control the volume setting in my surround amplifier via RS232. The shop I bought the amplifier from will provide me with the codes I need.

However I'm not sure what version of Girder I need. I'll be using Win XP, Xlobby, ZoomPlayer and Foobar2000, as well as USB-UIRT and perhaps an RF sender to control lights. I won't be using any server or any other "advanced" options I can think of. Will the Standard version at about $50 be ok for me? And can I upgrade to Pro later without buying an all new licence if my needs should change later on?

Hi, to do serial, you need Pro.