PDA

View Full Version : Retreive Internet content

Clement
April 13th, 2006, 03:54 PM
Hello all,

I am new to this great Grider script.

I like to know if I can program it (using LUA) to get an Internet page and analize it's content, extract some data from it and have Grider start some actions based on the variables contained in that page.

Best regards,
Clement

Rob H
April 13th, 2006, 04:14 PM
It's certainly all possible, yes.

You can use win.URLDownloadToMemory() to fetch the page as a string.

After that it's pretty much up to you, but we'll help if you have any specific questions.

Clement
April 14th, 2006, 02:25 AM
Great. This is good news for me.

Thank you very much for your replay.

I'll try to get myself familiar with the scripts and ask if there is no chance for me to figure out things.

However, the great news is this is doabla.

Thank you again,
Clement

Rob H
April 14th, 2006, 05:25 AM
You may want to say which web pages you are trying to process. Someone may already have either done it or made a start on it.

Clement
April 14th, 2006, 06:58 AM
Thank you Rob.

In fact I want to use a custom system as explained bewllow
BUT if anything like that (Internet content retrival and hanling) is already done it will be very helpful for me to point me there so I can see how the Girder-Lua scripting is handling for this purpose.

Basically, I want to point Girder to get information from some custom pages I will make and have Girder (and HAL) react to it.

Those pages will contrain personal intersts informations like:

1) If I have any new order to handle on my online stores.

2) Informations about my hosting server

3) Some alerts based on the currency rates on my country (Romania)

To simplify the LUA script I will be able to put on the Internet pages only a small amount of info like:

HAL flag name and HAL flag status
And after that I want to have Girder change the HAL flag accordingly within the computer.