PDA

View Full Version : Creating a C-Bus Plugin

GusKerr
May 31st, 2006, 01:13 PM
Whilst I am fairly new to the Promixis world, I have picked up a lot of hints and tips from the forum over the last month or so. One thing I think seems to happen is that "common" devices tend to get there own plugin.

(1) - Does it make sense to have one for C-BUS Devices ?

(2) - Do you have any standards etc around this ?

(3) - Would it be something that I should spend my time doing ?

Cheers

Gus

Rob H
May 31st, 2006, 02:16 PM
You may want to investigate the xAP route for this - there is a xAP-CBus hardware module, although details seem to be a bit sketchy at present ie I'm not sure if it's available to build/purchase. Otherwise, it sounds like a good idea to me.

GusKerr
May 31st, 2006, 06:36 PM
Had a look on Google for these combinations and think this is now old hat. C-Bus has moved on and has a full server module which makes it relatively easy to interface with Girder. To combine with a another protocol would seem to be a backward step so........

I think it makes sense to have a C-Bus Plugin.

Whilst I am unsure of the takeup in the UK I have to say it beats X10 hands down for flexibility and control although it is quite difficult to retro fit. There are at least three companies who stock the goods in UK so they can be purchased but the target market is very much the industrial big company. I think there is a great market for the consumer (like me) but there needs to be a simple route to getting it to work. This is a challenge for Girder as I think you do target the "programmer" and there needs to be a way of getting this to the "man in the street". This was my biggest challenge when starting to use Girder in that it needed a programming brain to make it work (+ lot of help from you guys). Now if this could all be packaged together so that the end consumer gets software, hardware and the flexibility I think this is a huge market for the future.