PDA

View Full Version : Need Philips TSU(7000 or others) help

carhaug
September 4th, 2006, 05:14 PM
I'm just about to buy a TSU7000 (RU980 in Europe I think).

I was just wondering if you are able to do as much with it as a PDA. I know that you have ALOT of possibilities programming the thing, but can you get data like covers and stuff from the PC to the TSU? Can you use Netremote on the TSU?

And are there any RF recievers that works great with TSU7000?

Sorry if the questions are dumb. I'm a bit of newbie on remotes.

Promixis
September 4th, 2006, 06:14 PM
The advantage of a PDA is that it is two way. So if you want to browse your media library etc remotely, the PDA is the way to go.

carhaug
September 5th, 2006, 10:58 AM
Yea. Thats what I was afraid of...

When the PDA don't use RF (I have never seen one) and you have to stay in the same room, I don't see the HUGE benefit of a 2 way communication with the PDA.
That is, if you program the remote good enough. Then you might be able to control the HTPC good enough with the projector turned off too I guess.

Rob H
September 5th, 2006, 04:22 PM
Well, for example you can browse your media files on the PDA, showing covers, artist information. You can have live news feeds, weather, stock information.
You can have two-way control of lighting etc.

carhaug
September 5th, 2006, 04:44 PM
Yepp. It depends how blind you are willing to be.
But when it aint got any RF, only IR, you are not gonna be able to go far away from the HTPC anyway. So I guess it will be about the same.
Crap

Rob H
September 5th, 2006, 05:55 PM
I'd have thought that most modern PPCs would have WiFi built in or at least easily supported with plugin card.

carhaug
September 6th, 2006, 11:40 AM
Oh crap. Did'nt think about that.

Why the HELL have I used 5 years on my IT degree??!?
Thanks

tmorten
September 11th, 2006, 09:18 PM