PDA

View Full Version : Convert IR (from USBUIRT) to RF to control X-10 devices

hpbjorn
September 25th, 2006, 01:48 AM
Hi,

I'm pretty new to the smarthome concept and Girder/netremote, but been spending a few hours already. What I'd like to do is to control some lights and other A/V devices in my livingroom (and other rooms). I'm already using NetRemote, Girder and UIRT to control my Hi-Fi system and HTPC in the livingroom, but I'd like to expand this a bit to have more zones. I've taken a look at the Powermid IR/RF and RF/IR transmitters and recievers. Will they do the trick? My big question though, is whether it's possible to store RF codes (to control X-10) as IR codes in Girder? I need to learn Girder the RF codes from the X-10 remote and send these codes out as IR from the HTPC via UIRT and subsequently the Powermid will convert the IR signals to RF. Is this possible?

I'm looking at these scenarios:

1. Netremote --> WiFi --> Girder --> UIRT --> RF --> X-10 devices
2. Netremote --> WiFi --> Girder --> UIRT --> RF --> IR --> A/V devices

I know (99%) the latter will work, but not about no. 1. I sent an email to a Norwegian company here in Oslo (Sense-Matic) and they suggested a product called HomeVision - but it seems to be a bit overkill. I think Girder can cope with much of its functionality anyway.

The only thing about the Powermids is that I think they are ugly. Are there any other devices out there that are a bit more "discrete"? If I buy both Powemids (RF-->IR I IR-->RF) I guess I can use them "in reverse" to learn Girder the X-10 codes to control the X-10 devices?

Hope you experinced ones have som answers for me. :)

Hans Petter

danward79
September 25th, 2006, 04:02 AM
for you scenario number 1 why not use??

1. Netremote --> WiFi --> Girder --> X-10 devices

for number 2 I would use.

2. Netremote --> WiFi --> Girder --> IR Trans Ethernet or Global Cache--> A/V devices

hpbjorn
September 25th, 2006, 04:31 AM
Hi,