View Full Version : Multi-zone IR?

October 24th, 2006, 08:52 AM
I am currently using a Slink-e with a multizone IR xantech adapter that connects to a couple of hard wired xantech connecting blocks. The multizone ability means that i can use two Sony amps of the same exact model but control them independently for use in a multi-room setup.

Here's my questions: i want to get rid of the slink-e and try the UIRT.

1) How can i accomplish a multi-zone IR with the UIRT? Is this not the correct IR transmitter i should be using?
2) How do you connect the UIRT to a hard wired (3 wires: signal, ground, power) system?


October 24th, 2006, 09:13 AM
The USBUIRT has 2 zone output. Jon (www.usbuirt.com (http://www.usbuirt.com)) would be a better person to ask. I use 1 usbuirt into a xantech system.

October 25th, 2006, 07:27 PM
Another possibility (though the USB-UIRT is a great choice) would be to use a GlobalCache GC-100, which has three independent IR inputs. I only use only one of the three, but I believe they are independently accessible.

There is a specific cable (the GC-CXG) to adapt the GC-100's output to make it Xantech compatible, so you can plug it directly into your system that way.