PDA

View Full Version : Girder4 + NetRemote2 + USBUIRT (trial programs)

enaybee
January 6th, 2008, 05:47 PM
Hello,

I have Girder4 (trial), Netremote2 (trial) and USB-UIRT. I am trying to use netremote 2 to send actions to girder 4, which are then passed through usbuirt to my dish pro 301 to change channels or volume up & down. All of these softwares are on the same computer.

Ultimately what I am trying to do (after having any success in the first step give n above)is this - I will try to use Netremote on another machine and send actions over internet to a host machine running girder 4, to pass these actions to usb uirt to my dish pro 301 for changing channels or volume up and down.

Any help? I am a total noob. So far I have made my system learn the remote commands (from dish pro 301 remote) for volume up and down on my computer through girder 4 and usbuirt. But I want this to work the other way, send commands from my pc to stb. Like the following

netremote2 -> girder4 -> usbuirt -> dish pro 301 (stb) = change channels or volume up and down.

Any help will be appreciated. Thanks.

Rob H
January 6th, 2008, 07:07 PM
The first step is to teach the USB-UIRT plugin the commands for your STB from the remote.

Make sure you're using the Expert Interface (View|Expert Interface)

Create a new GML file (File|New)

In the Action tree on the main Girder window you should see a group for the USB-UIRT, open that group and drag a USB-UIRT action to your newly created GML

You should now see the USB-UIRT action dialog. Press the "Learn IR Code" button and learn one of the codes from your remote (some remotes require you to hold the remote very close to the USB-UIRT when learning codes).

After learning an event, save the GML (Ctrl-S) and test the code (pointing the USB-UIRT towards the device in question).

Once you've learned and tested the codes we can progress to the next step (probably tomorrow as it's getting late here in the UK).

enaybee
January 6th, 2008, 07:14 PM