PDA

View Full Version : hold down a key few seconds to restart windows



noxx2
February 25th, 2008, 04:50 PM
is it possible to create a action in girder, that i must press a button (5 seconds) to
restart windows or to start a program?

noxx2
February 29th, 2008, 05:23 PM
hmm, perhaps my english is too bad to unterstand. the same in german:

ich möchte das ein Befehl in Grider erst dann ausgeführt wird, nachdem ich einige Sekunden eine Taste gedrückt gehalten habe, mindestens 5 Sekunden sollten es sein.

Ich benutze Girder im Moment so, dass ich mit einer Taste zwischen 2 Monitoren hin und herschalten kann, eine weitere Taste startet Windows neu.

Der Grund für meine Frage, ich möchte nicht das durch ungewolltes Tastendrücken diese Befehle ausgeführt werden. Kann schon stören, wenn Windows auf einmal neu startet.

quixote
March 1st, 2008, 02:08 AM
You can create a 5000ms simple timer that points to your restart action (restart in the OS action folder in expert view). Attach the key down event from the logger to that timer. Create another simple timer that has the same timer number as the first, but set the time to zero. Next attach the key up event to that action. Now when you press the key the timer will start and restart the OS after 5 seconds, but if you let go of the key before then it will cancel the timer.

noxx2
March 1st, 2008, 02:52 AM
hmm, thx. is it possible that you make a screenshot? im newbie, i dont find the timer-settings, sorry.

noxx2
March 1st, 2008, 03:16 AM
i have make a test. the Test should open Notepad after 5 Seconds, but i dont work

http://img186.imageshack.us/img186/736/39043392gc3.png

The Timer is from the OCELOT Folder on the left side

noxx2
March 1st, 2008, 03:48 AM
i found the "simple timer".

i will make a test to open notepad after 5 seconds, but it dont work. i ve make this

1) Drag and Drop the "File Execute" from OS to Group "Test" and set under File Execute the Link to the Notepad

http://img215.imageshack.us/img215/2668/57707483vp6.th.png (http://img215.imageshack.us/my.php?image=57707483vp6.png)


2) Drag and Drop "simple Timer" to the Group "Test". In the Window i set Timer ID to 0 and Timeout to 5000. On the right side are 3 Buttons, i use the Button "On Timer" and set the path to Action File Execute in Point 1)

http://img442.imageshack.us/img442/9530/65736656iz3.th.png (http://img442.imageshack.us/my.php?image=65736656iz3.png)

3) i add a event to the simple Timer in Point 2) set Modifier to down -> Learn with Green-Button on my Remote

http://img150.imageshack.us/img150/940/90677028bm6.th.png (http://img150.imageshack.us/my.php?image=90677028bm6.png)

4) Drag and Drop a new "simple timer" to the Group "Test" and set Timer ID to 0 and Timeout to 0. On Timer to the File Execute in Point 1)
5) i add a event to the simple Timer in Point 2) set Modifier to Up -> Learn with Green-Button on my Remote

http://img122.imageshack.us/img122/7712/29431360db6.png

But nothing happens if i push the Green Button

http://img134.imageshack.us/img134/4361/99640082kr1.png

quixote
March 1st, 2008, 01:05 PM
It looks like you have everything almost right, except you need to uncheck "recurring" in the simple timer. Also, for 4) you do not need to specify anything for "On Timer", since the timer never actually does anything. It's only function is to cancel that timer.

Are you sure that your remote creates events for both the up and down events of the button press? Maybe you should start by testing with a key from the keyboard. Also, it is easier to drag your events directly from the logger.