PDA

View Full Version : States in Girder



mn07
April 3rd, 2008, 10:27 AM
I think that the states in girder are not implemented in the correct way.

My opinion is that states in girder should be implemented as in "Algorithmic State Machines".

Description:
On every event a state change should occur. The next state should be specified by the user and it can be diferent then the current state, but it can also be the same as the current state. This will give more power to girder.

quixote
April 3rd, 2008, 12:20 PM
There is already an action to set the state. If that's not good enough, use variables in a script.

mn07
April 3rd, 2008, 12:43 PM
There is already an action to set the state. If that's not good enough, use variables in a script.
Hmmmm,
I thought that the purpouse of girder is to simplify the automation.

If I had the time or wanted to write scripts I would write a simple application that would do that and would not need girder.

quixote
April 3rd, 2008, 01:22 PM
How is


State1=State1 or 0
State1="whatever"

not simple? I doubt that you could write an application with 2 or 3 lines of code.
You should look at the variable conditional plugin.