PDA

View Full Version : Nanovision MIMO UM-740 7" USB Touchscreen



mhwlng
March 16th, 2009, 07:51 AM
I've got one of these 7" 800x480 USB touch screens connected, with NetRemote running :

http://www.nanovisionmimo.com/

http://www.cartft.com/catalog/il/1037

works great.

It only needs a single usb cable, no vga cable or power supply...

I've not tried the webcam/microphone...

Marcel

kwaugh
March 16th, 2009, 09:45 AM
Especially since you can string multiple units from a single PC.

Thanks for the tip!

Solosid
March 17th, 2009, 12:57 PM
Hi Marcel,

Can you use different users (on a PC) to each monitor
or does it only see whats on the main PC?


Cheers

Mark

mhwlng
March 17th, 2009, 01:14 PM
There is only one logged on user...

Marcel

Solosid
March 17th, 2009, 02:41 PM
Mmmmm....

are there any buttons on the side that you need to get at or can it be switched off via the USB & PC?

does the touchscreen need a Stylus or can you use your 'Finger' easily?

Cheers

Mark

Rob H
March 17th, 2009, 02:41 PM
But they're each treated as a separate monitor aren't they?

mhwlng
March 17th, 2009, 02:52 PM
Rob

Yes. just like plugging in a second graphics card in your pc..

Mark

no buttons on the side

screen on/off button and brightness up/down buttons are at the front.

on/off button only switches off the screen, because the usb device is still active in device manager, when off...

switching vista screen power saving on, also correctly switches the backlight off on this display... (I use a motion detector (in girder), to switch off the screen if I'm not standing in front of it)
note that you can't switch on/off individual monitors separately (if you have more than one)...

touch screen works fine with finger

Marcel

VicVonDoom
March 17th, 2009, 03:58 PM
are you bench connected?

would you know if this works with a cat5/usb extender - that'll answer many a prayer with a batch file to load seperate nr instances :)

mhwlng
March 17th, 2009, 04:04 PM
I have not tried a long cable yet, I had bad experiences with passive usb/cat5 extenders with other equipment...

I've got one of these active devices on order, to test :

http://www.belkin.com/networkusbhub/

I don't know if it will work..

Marcel

VicVonDoom
March 17th, 2009, 04:51 PM
i've had 120m on a wired touchscreen screen via usb extender (mouse only - low bps..)

Anyhoo, keep us posted! Wireless touchscreens that are server driven = BIG Mmmmmmm!!!

edit:
just seen this....
"* Data transfer rates do not support some high-speed/high-bandwidth USB devices such as HD streaming web cams or other video transfer applications. "
Fingers crossed....

maxthebuilder
March 17th, 2009, 07:44 PM
I got one of these too but sold it.. Looks and works great for simple things. Doesn't support DirectShow (?) - not all applications run on it - Theater View of JRMC for isntance. Not good for a carputer either - the screen is too reflective/glossy

mhwlng
March 18th, 2009, 09:21 AM
I connected the display to an old keyspan US-4A ethernet-> usb device server

http://www.tripplite.com/en/products/model.cfm?txtSeriesID=518&EID=13385&txtModelID=3913

and it works fine.

Netremote refreshes a bit slower than via direct USB connection, but good enough for me (note that I'm using vista 32 bit on a low spec. VIA processor !)...

Marcel

mhwlng
March 21st, 2009, 06:45 AM
I tested the belkin network usb hub.

The screen definitely has a better performance than the keyspan device.

But I can't get the touch screen to work reliably, after a reboot, on the belkin.

I didn't test the built-in camera with either hub

Marcel

jwilson56
April 2nd, 2009, 01:36 PM
Can't seem to find the UM-740 available in the states.

Looks like a nice touchscreen

For those that have or had it... how did Netremote work and look on it?

mhwlng
April 2nd, 2009, 01:49 PM
I've had some touch screen driver issues (see above).

The screen looks fine.
The displaylink technology is supported very well by Vista.

I'm happy with the NR performance, as compared to a 'normal' touch screen connected to the VGA port.

(tested on a slow VIA C7 1.5Ghz machine, with Vista Business, that also controls my house using girder)...


As a replacement, I've just received an atom N270 1.6Ghz based, *passively* cooled, MSI windbox :

http://www.windbox.net/2009/02/windbox-under-the-hood-or-behind-the-monitor/


that should be a bit faster than the VIA machine
(I also replaced the hard disk with an SSD and added 1GB RAM)...


Marcel

jwilson56
April 2nd, 2009, 01:59 PM
I would be using this with XP and a short USB cable as it would be close to the PC which is a 3.2GHZ system.

Solosid
April 29th, 2009, 05:07 PM
Hi Marcel,

Hows this unit getting on...any issues?


Mark

mhwlng
April 29th, 2009, 05:20 PM
I don't use it anymore :

1)

I found that after a few days of use, the cpu utilization of the graphics drivers went up in vista, for some reason... That went away after a reboot...

I am now using a normal vga-connected 800x600 touch screen instead.

Marcel