PDA

View Full Version : Running MediaBridge on WHS?



mickelin
September 19th, 2009, 04:22 AM
I would like to run MediaBridge on my Windows Home Server. It works well if I'm logged in as administrator on the machine, but it stops when I log out. I'd like to run it as a service, without requiring local login. Is that possible? How?

Of course, the ideal solution would be a NetRemote WHS Add-in...

Rob H
September 19th, 2009, 10:16 AM
Hmm... not sure about that to be honest. I'll have to investigate the possibility of a WHS Console plugin for MB.

jolly1
February 19th, 2010, 03:42 PM
I belive that it would require to be run as service. Or you need to leave logged in as administrator

Rob H
February 19th, 2010, 04:37 PM
What media player would MB on WHS be talking to anyway?

mickelin
February 20th, 2010, 11:37 AM
I run MB on WHS and it works fine. It uses Windows Media Player 11.

Rob H
February 20th, 2010, 04:19 PM
So does that mean that you have to use a local login anyway? Or can you use WMP11 without being logged in?

mickelin
February 21st, 2010, 01:44 PM
I have to be logged in. That's why I posted the request for a service or add-in in the first place... But it's no big deal, I can live with it.

Rob H
February 21st, 2010, 04:40 PM
What I meant was do you have to be logged in to use WMP11? There's not much point my working on a WHS console plugin if no media players work when not logged in.

mickelin
February 27th, 2010, 04:56 AM
Ah, I see what you mean. Not sure how to test it though. If I start playing a song, log out, and the song keeps playing, is that "proof" enough?

Rob H
February 27th, 2010, 05:30 AM
Yeah, that would probably do I guess