PDA

View Full Version : NR not running - Win CE 6.0



yamy125
November 21st, 2009, 02:43 AM
Hi,

Just wondering if anyone has managed to get NR running under CE 6.0? Seems to install fine, but no activity when attempting to launch the app. Nothing written to the NR log and no error messages. Tried both the CE and standard CAB installs and did try the copying of files to Windows directory as mentione for CE 5.0

Any other suggestions? The device is a Smartq 7 running CE 6.0 - it will be a great cheap little unit if I can get this running (and I really hope I can).

Cheers

Rob H
November 21st, 2009, 12:00 PM
I don't have any WinCE 6.0 devices here, but I thought that some people had had some success with them.

yamy125
November 21st, 2009, 10:53 PM
Hmmm, I have it running fine in mobile 6.1, but no such luck with CE 6. Will be a pity if I can't, as these little units would be a great buy http://www.mobileread.com/forums/showthread.php?t=48934

Rob H
November 22nd, 2009, 10:25 AM
Right, I'm just trying to install Windows Embedded CE (6.0) - although it's going very slowly - which includes a tool to check for compatibility issues. I'll see what it can discover.

yamy125
November 22nd, 2009, 04:49 PM
Awesome Rob - much appreciated. Let me know if you want me to test anything at this end.

yamy125
December 2nd, 2009, 09:29 PM
Any update here Rob? Some others interested too it appears judging by the thread in NR Client Devices.

Cheers

Rob H
December 3rd, 2009, 12:10 PM
Still working on it - having a bit of a nightmare getting my new build machine working properly so that I can build a new version.

yamy125
December 3rd, 2009, 03:45 PM
Thanks for the update Rob. Once again, let me know if you want anything tested or if I can assist in any way.

Cheers

theengine
December 23rd, 2009, 04:02 PM
Were you able to overcome your problems to overcome more problems?

yamy125
January 21st, 2010, 04:43 AM
Hi Rob,

Is there anything you can think of off the top of your head that I could have a stab at to try and get this working? Or is a new build with CE6 support the only answer?

I just don't like seeing my SmartQ sitting here gathering dust :(

Cheers

Rob H
January 21st, 2010, 07:30 AM
It pretty much needs a new build for CE6 - they removed some functionality supposedly to improve security, so I need to find a workaround for that.

yamy125
January 22nd, 2010, 02:12 AM
Ok, thanks for the heads up Rob.

I look forward (and looks like I'm not alone I hope) for a new realease in the not too distant future.

They no doubt have you flat out with the PEAC stuff at the moment, so I understand the priorities.

Cheers

peggowski
February 16th, 2010, 08:32 AM
It pretty much needs a new build for CE6 - they removed some functionality supposedly to improve security, so I need to find a workaround for that.

maybe this will help as i am also after ce 6.0 functionality having recently bought a smartq v7

(seeing as i cant post links yet here is the copy and pasted text but all credit should go to the ce4all blog)

In Windows CE 6.0 applications are unable to call kernel IO many routines including new OEM functions in the kernel using KernelIoControl. There are a few exceptions to this rule, these are:

IOCTL_HAL_GET_CACHE_INFO
IOCTL_HAL_GET_DEVICE_INFO
IOCTL_HAL_GET_DEVICEID
IOCTL_HAL_GET_UUID
IOCTL_PROCESSOR_INFORMATION:

What is not commonly known is that this list can be extended by adding any new (or existing) IOCTLs to the following public library and sysgen (or copy this to your platform and update the links to build the OALIOCTL.DLL:

%_WINCEROOT%\PUBLIC\COMMON\OAK\OALIOCTL

If your CE5.0 platform had a lot of support for platform specific operations using KernelIOControl these can continue to be called from CE6.0 applications if you wish now!

yamy125
February 16th, 2010, 07:31 PM
Nice find peggowski. Hopefully not too much work for Promixis to recompile then. I was going to bump the thread again the other day, but hesitated as I didn't want to pester them too much :)

My poor old SmartQ 7 still sitting here gathering dust :( Can't wait to get it up and running as they look like great little units.

Cheers

Rob H
February 17th, 2010, 05:43 PM
I'll have to check again what had changed but this looks useful.

yamy125
March 12th, 2010, 07:39 PM
Any progress here Rob?

Cheers

Rob H
March 13th, 2010, 05:12 AM
Not yet, no - I may be able to do a build using VS2008 though, but that will make yet another target to add to the build :(

peggowski
April 6th, 2010, 05:07 AM
Hi Rob,

just a quick message to re-iterate my interest in this. my whole system kind of hinges on this functionality. hint hint :)

cheers!

Rob H
April 6th, 2010, 08:33 AM
Getting closer to getting the build machine working with the existing code - once that's sorted and it actually builds the installer as well I can take another look at CE6.0 support

peggowski
April 6th, 2010, 09:02 AM
thanks for the update rob. keep up the good work!

Rob H
April 6th, 2010, 02:54 PM
Getting closer to being able to do something about this.

peggowski
April 29th, 2010, 08:19 AM
anything on this rob?

Rob H
April 29th, 2010, 11:30 AM
Not quite. I will be dealing with this very soon though.

peggowski
May 27th, 2010, 04:20 AM
how is this coming along rob?

Rob H
May 27th, 2010, 09:36 AM
My latest build seems to pass all the compatibility tests, so I'm moderately hopeful that it will run happily on CE 6

peggowski
June 4th, 2010, 03:26 AM
ok well i will take the plunge in that case and buy the whole home bundle. how do i get the latest build?

Rob H
June 6th, 2010, 04:02 PM
It's not released yet - currently waiting for results of testing.

yamy125
June 7th, 2010, 05:06 AM
Can I test it :)

Been waiting for this for sooooo long - very excited :D

justinm001
June 9th, 2010, 10:51 AM
any timeframe on when this might be released? I'm planning on buying a couple new devices and they'll be ce6.0. I don't want to buy them if netremote doesn't work with them

justinm001
June 24th, 2010, 04:22 PM
Any update on timeframe? I'm not trying to rush you just wondering if it's gonna happen this month or this year.

peggowski
July 7th, 2010, 03:25 AM
Anyone home Rob?

Maybe his home automation has taken control and he cant escape! :)

seriously though, can you give us at least a year and quarter for the release of the ce 6.0 compatable netremote? (e.g. q1 2011)

cheers

justinm001
July 7th, 2010, 12:25 PM
Anyone home Rob?
Maybe his home automation has taken control and he cant escape! :)
cheers

LOL !!!!! I'm assuming he's just busy. I really want to tryout that smartq7 or something.

Rob H
July 10th, 2010, 07:32 AM
Sorry, not been around much this last week.

I'm hoping it will be soon, within the month ideally.

davedave1234
July 22nd, 2010, 12:17 PM
Any update? I am thinking of getting one of these units http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=250666618205#description says 5 hours runtime with WiFi on and it has 1ghz proc and 256MB ram and 2gb storage. But it is CE6.0 or android and neither support NR at this point.

Thanks,
Dave

justinm001
July 23rd, 2010, 02:12 PM
lol APAD. that device looks great. I was planning on the smartq7 tablet which is ce6.0 only also but this looks pretty cool.

I just wish some of these chinese tablets would have a dock instead of a plug. It would look a lot nicer if it plugs into a nice dock that would look good mounted on a table.

davedave1234
July 23rd, 2010, 02:59 PM
I agree about the doc, the SmartQ looks nice as well and I like the physical keys on the device. not that there is a tone of them but at least it has up and down. Well lets hope Rob has some good news for us.

davedave1234
July 25th, 2010, 09:09 AM
Any news? I am holding off buying any hardware until I know this works.

Rob H
August 2nd, 2010, 06:40 AM
I can't 100% confirm that the next release will support CE6 as I don't have any hardware that runs CE6 here, but I'm optimistic that it will, since it seems to pass the compatibility tests that I've been able to run.

justinm001
August 2nd, 2010, 03:43 PM
Sweet. Hopefully it'll be released soon

justinm001
August 5th, 2010, 04:36 PM
I just ordered a Smartq V5 with win CE6.0 so if you need anyone to test it i'll have the device monday.

yamy125
August 5th, 2010, 05:35 PM
I've had my v7 for the last 9 months - Patiently waiting :)

KRO74
November 2nd, 2010, 08:21 AM
Any news on this yet ??

yamy125
November 9th, 2010, 09:04 PM
Nearly a year now...still waiting.

automation
December 12th, 2010, 06:14 PM
Any news on this ....new to this whole setup, but the Girder/Netremote product looks perfect for me, and the price is good, but finding decent hardware is harder.
The Smartq 5 is 100 or so here in the UK on eBay - seems a good deal.


Obviously if there's an easy way coming soon that will generate web pages without me learning HTML/ajax etc, then it's not such an issue. (Is there?!)