PDA

View Full Version : I'm missing something.

freewheeling
March 28th, 2012, 11:39 PM
I've never used Girder before, and I'm trying to get my head around what it does. I have a USB-UIRT as an input device and I'm trying to set things up so that either SageTV or Windows Media Center is controlled with a remote. I have several universal remotes, one is actually made by Universal and the other by Philips. First of all, when the program starts there's list of applications starting off with Girder Demonstration. What is this list for? Are these plugins? I click on one of the entries but nothing much happens. Am I supposed to highlight an application and then click "Add Remote" if I want to control that application?

When I click on "Add Remote" I get a list of remotes, none of which I own, and then a "new" option. If I click on "new" it asks me to press a button on my remote. So I press a button and my USB-UIRT blinks, but nothing happens in Girder. So does Girder know to use the USB-UIRT for input? I imagine there has to be some hardware way to recognize what my remote is "saying" but the software seems to assume it's done by magic or something. Is there some setting that I should have set to tell it to look at the USB-UIRT, or is it supposed to know that?

freewheeling
April 11th, 2012, 05:03 PM
So, still no response to this and I still have *no idea* how to implement Girder with either WMC or SageTV. I feel like I've purchased another piece of obsolete software, like Show Analyzer, that's no longer supported.

Ron
April 11th, 2012, 05:07 PM
Did you enable the USB-UIRT plugin in Girder?

freewheeling
April 11th, 2012, 08:22 PM
Did you enable the USB-UIRT plugin in Girder?