PDA

View Full Version : Global Cache - Perform action based on IR code received



bbroge
October 8th, 2015, 11:14 AM
Hi, I am trying to configure Girder 6 to essentially listen for an IR code received by my GC-100 GC-IRE and be able perform an action on the same computer that girder is installed on which is also running windows media center. Can I use Girder this way? Please let me know how to do this as I am new to Girder.

Thank you!

Ron
October 8th, 2015, 11:27 AM
We don't have a driver for that yet, but no time like the present! If you are happy to try out what I send we can make a script.

bbroge
October 8th, 2015, 11:32 AM
Sure, I'd be willing to try it out! Can you also point me in the direction to configure the global cache component to send IR codes. I am really confused on using girder at the moment.

Ron
October 8th, 2015, 11:36 AM
Yes the existing GC plugin does IR and relay control only. The GC-IRE is really a different product from the GC-100.

Alright, let's try this naive approach first.

Enable the "simple transport" plugin. Then inside it's configuration import the attached config. Make sure to adjust the comport ( or network address ) for your actual GC-IRE. Make sure it connects ( goes green ) and events should now start rolling into Girder when you press a button on your remote. If so press a the same button on your remote a few times and copy and paste the Girder log output to the forum here so I can see.

For future reference here is the API (http://www.globalcache.com/files/docs/API_GC-IRE.pdf)for the GC-IRE

bbroge
October 8th, 2015, 12:38 PM
Hi, Some of this makes sense, I'm still learning Girder so thank you for the patience. The GC-IRE is connected to my GC-100, so it would indeed be a network address and port. Does this info go inside the config file or entered somewhere in Girder? I have enabled the simple transport plugin but I am confused on how to import the config.

Thank you.

bbroge
October 8th, 2015, 04:47 PM
I've ran through the keyboard tutorial with success to help understand this program and I am still lost on how to add a serial device.

Ron
October 8th, 2015, 05:41 PM
No problem :)

File
Settings
- Setting Window Appears
Click on Plugins on left hand side
- List of plugins appears
Find "Simple Transport Plugin"
Click the check box in front of Simple Transport Plugin
- On right hand side a new window appears
Click on "Import" and find the GC-IRE.tcf file.
- The list now has one entry, probably in red called "GC-IRE"
Highlight / Click on GC-IRE in list
Press Edit button
- New window appears ( Called Edit Transport )
Click on TCP tab
Enter IP address of Global Cache
Enter 4999 in port number if you are using global cache port 1 or 5000 for port 2.
Press OK

If all goes well the transport should have gone green.

bbroge
October 8th, 2015, 08:04 PM
Hi, Yup it worked. cant believe i missed that screen earlier. I knew it had to be something easy. Anyway, one thing to note...I'm actually using the GC-IRL which from what I understand is the same thing as the GC-IRE without the extension. I'll need to order that becasue I need the extension.

Anyway...here is the log output for the volume up button pressed about 4 times...

19:58:02, Source=1024, Message=GC-IRL,38000,341,168,22,18,22,63BBCBCCCBCCBCCBBCBBBBB BCBCCCCCC,22,3793
19:58:04, Source=1024, Message=GC-IRL,38000,341,168,22,19,22,62BBCBCCCBCCBCCBBCBBBBB BCBCCCCCC,22,3793
19:58:05, Source=1024, Message=GC-IRL,38000,341,167,22,19,22,62BBCBCCCBCCBCCBBCBBBBB BCBCCCCCC,22,3793
19:58:07, Source=1024, Message=GC-IRL,38000,341,168,22,19,22,62BBCBCCCBCCBCCBBCBBBBB BCBCCCCCC,22,3793

Now I just need to learn how to make this work with windows media center...Do you know of a preconfigured script or maybe I just need to learn how to do it manually?

bbroge
October 8th, 2015, 09:59 PM
Hi, Yup it worked. cant believe i missed that screen earlier. I knew it had to be something easy. Anyway, one thing to note...I'm actually using the GC-IRL which from what I understand is the same thing as the GC-IRE without the extension. I'll need to order that becasue I need the extension.

Anyway...here is the log output for the volume up button pressed about 4 times...

19:58:02, Source=1024, Message=GC-IRL,38000,341,168,22,18,22,63BBCBCCCBCCBCCBBCBBBBB BCBCCCCCC,22,3793
19:58:04, Source=1024, Message=GC-IRL,38000,341,168,22,19,22,62BBCBCCCBCCBCCBBCBBBBB BCBCCCCCC,22,3793
19:58:05, Source=1024, Message=GC-IRL,38000,341,167,22,19,22,62BBCBCCCBCCBCCBBCBBBBB BCBCCCCCC,22,3793
19:58:07, Source=1024, Message=GC-IRL,38000,341,168,22,19,22,62BBCBCCCBCCBCCBBCBBBBB BCBCCCCCC,22,3793

Now I just need to learn how to make this work with windows media center...Do you know of a preconfigured script or maybe I just need to learn how to do it manually?

So, I'm trying the up arrow and I am getting different results now upon hitting the button multiple times... How do we account for the differences? Is there a way to just forward all of them to windows media center, will it recognize all of these as the same thing?

21:57:22, Source=1024, Message=GC-IRL,38000,342,168,21,82B,21,169BCCBBBBBBCBBC,21,11 30,342,82,21,3304,342,82,21,3304,342,82,21,3781
21:57:24, Source=1024, Message=GC-IRL,38000,342,170,21,82B,21,170BCCBBBBBBCBBC,21,11 33,342,82,21,3316,342,82,21,3316,342,82,21,3793
21:57:25, Source=1024, Message=GC-IRL,38000,342,169,21,82B,21,169BCCBBBBBBCBBC,21,11 32,342,82,21,3311,342,82,21,3311,342,82,21,3787
21:57:27, Source=1024, Message=GC-IRL,38000,342,169,21,82B,21,169BCCBBBBBBCBBC,21,11 32,342,82,21,3311,342,82,21,3787
21:57:28, Source=1024, Message=GC-IRL,38000,342,171,21,82B,21,171BCCBBBBBBCBBC,21,11 36,342,81,21,3322,342,82,21,3800
21:57:29, Source=1024, Message=GC-IRL,38000,342,170,21,82B,21,170BCCBBBBBBCBBC,21,11 34,342,82,21,3316,342,81,21,3793

Ron
October 9th, 2015, 06:16 AM
Cool, ok naive approach didn't work fully :) taking step 2. Give me a few hours to work on this.

As far as media center goes I'm not sure we do. I'd just do keyboard emulation ( up, down, left and right and enter etc)

Ron
October 9th, 2015, 02:19 PM
Alright. I've extended the simple transport plugin to access a bit of lua code that can parse the incoming data. This requires you to update the simpletransport plugin and reload the GC-IRE.tcf.

Both are attached. Unzip simpletransport.zip in the <GIRDER>\lua\simpleTransport directory. Import the TCF file as above.

bbroge
November 9th, 2015, 03:53 PM
Just wanted to finally say thanks for this. It seems to be working well. I want to do some more testing though. I will let you know if I run into any issues.