PDA

View Full Version : TaskCreate excess [CREATE] and [CLOSE] events

partap
October 19th, 2016, 03:48 AM
I've got a problem that is popping up semi-randomly with some (fairly old) girder installations (Girder 5.0.14 build 551)

Let me preface by saying that I'm new to both Girder and this project in general. The system includes a proprietary application, as well as Girder (with HTTP control) and several other third-party apps that it controls, as well as a TV. It's running on Windows Embedded Standard SP1 (Looks like Windows 7)

Anyways, I've spent the last few days trying to debug the errant behavior, though several other parts of the system, and I *think* I've tracked the problem down to Girder responding to events that aren't actually happening...

Our app runs as a Service...when a playlist is activated, it opens a web page using an embedded instance of Internet Explorer, which displays a series of videos and documents which may in turn open other helper apps to view certain document types. Girder is configured with handlers for TaskCreate [CREATE] and [CLOSE] events on the app, which trigger various startup and cleanup macros. As far as I know, it's been working fine until recent updates to the web content, which is puzzling. Specifically, while the web page remains open, Girder is sometimes triggering extraneous [CREATE] and [CLOSE] events (maybe?)

The extra [CREATE] events are manageable (and testing on older system builds shows that these have been happening in the past), but the [CLOSE] events are new...and showstoppers...literally. It can turn the TV off in the middle of a playlist...

The user manual is unhelpful about what exact conditions generate the events...the documentation says: "Generates events when applications start and stop."
The executable in question is always running on the system...so I wondered if it is tied to creation and destruction of threads and/or windows belonging to the specified executable...