PDA

View Full Version : Help on writing LUA-Scripts, parallel port input

ALUBUNDY
August 11th, 2003, 05:55 AM
Hello,

im a newbie in this forum und in using girder.
Im impressed of that great programm and its many possibilities.
:D (sorry about my bad english, but i'm from germany and i don't often
write topics in english)
I want to use girder for controlling windows by the 5 status bits of the
parallel port. I built a 20 keys matrix keypad with an encoder IC. The IC gives out a 5 bit matrix (e.g. 10110) at the 5 status ports.
I tried to use the plugin "parallel.dll" from Mark F. to recognize the parallel input but it only detects if one bit is inverted and so it's not possible for me to use it.
:cry: The I saw that you can use LUA to make scripts. I read the tutorials but I don't understand how to use it with girder.
I read a lot of topics in this forum but I didn't found the explanations what I need.
I found the LUAPortIO-plugin and I think i can use it to solve my problem.
But I dont know how to write these scripts (editor ?) and howto use and implement it into girder.
Maybe I'm to stupid. I'm not a crack in programming so perhaps anybody
could tell me some basics.

Thank you. Sorry for this trivial questions.

Mark F
August 11th, 2003, 08:41 AM
What if the parallel port plugin was changed to (optionally) output a byte event instead of individual bit events? Would that solve the problem? ;)

ALUBUNDY
August 11th, 2003, 09:09 AM
Thanks for your answer.

I think it could solve my problem. :D
With detecting the changing of the whole Byte at the status port (or for other applications at the Data-Port) its possible to get 256 actions (at the
data port) or 32 actions at the status-port (3 bits at the status-ports are unused).
Is this possible with the actual plugin? I didn't saw that in the configuration of the parallel-plugin.

AL

Mark F
August 11th, 2003, 09:25 AM