PDA

View Full Version : Using NetRemote & Girder over Bluetooth

claude34
March 28th, 2003, 05:49 AM
I'm pretty new to NetRemote & Girder, but have manage to create a CCF with basic buttons to control Winamp, so I can test everything works. Using Win32 NetRemote, I can press one of the CCF buttons (to play current song in Winamp), and Girder receives the event, and plays the song. I copied the CCF to my PocketPC (Fujitsu-Siemens Loox), and did the same test, with the PocketPC cradled. I'd set the Girder target as the name of my PC, and it also worked fine. (Well, I had to press a few buttons several times before Girder did anything...more on that later).

I then disconnect USB cable, and connected using Bluetooth (which I know works fine for ActiveSync and Internet Browsing etc) - when I pressed a button again, Winamp didn't play. I checked in Girder's Plugin screen, Internet Event Server, and saw that a connection to the PocketPC was made, but immediately disconnected - and the IP address of the PocketPC appears VERY briefly on the right hand side of connections....

Also, in the bottom status bar of Girder, where it normally shows what Event was received, it VERY briefly flashes something, but then says Disconnect.

I guess this could be a Bluetooth thing, but does anyone have any ideas what's happening, or how to fix it....?

Many thanks for an EXCELLENT piece of software :-)

Mastiff
March 29th, 2003, 03:44 AM
Hey,fellow Looxer! Try to incrase timeout value to ridiculous levels, like 100000 milliseconds. It might help.

claude34
March 31st, 2003, 03:02 PM
Hi Mastiff,

I've read your site about your home setup, very cool...

I've tried increasing timeout to 15 seconds (15000ms), but no joy. About 2 seconds after pressing a button in NetRemote on my Loox, Girder very briefly flashes Disconnect at the bottom right of the status bar, and in Plugins > Settings, still very briefly see the IP of my Loox.