PDA

View Full Version : Got my Simpad today!... but....



QuickCarl
February 9th, 2004, 09:44 PM
Well it came today, but the cord from the tranformer to that wall that shipped with the unit is for Europe and since I live in the USA, I have a little longer to wait before I can charge it up, load the software, and go...

Hopefully the new software will release about the same time as the new cord getting here.

Ben - hope that things are coming along nicely on the software. I will soon have the ability to help test on Simpad, Dell X5, Win32 and test the USB UIRT...

Let me know how I can help.

-Carl

Mastiff
February 10th, 2004, 12:44 PM
Carl, can't you buy a multi-plug battery eliminator cheap on a Radio Shack near you?

jhopkin
February 10th, 2004, 02:05 PM
Isn't the cord the completely standard one that goes into every computer? Those tend to pile up in my house until I throw them away. Surely you can find an extra sitting around somewhere.

-James

QuickCarl
February 11th, 2004, 12:32 PM
Thanks for the ideas.

The cord is not standard, it is one of the detachable kind that go from the wall to the tranformer like come with laptop chargers.

I handled it by cutting off the european plug and replacing it with an American type from Home Depot.

It is all charged up and ready to go....

Mastiff
February 11th, 2004, 01:22 PM
Good ol' Home Depot! One of the US shops I have a personal relationship with, along with Target, RadioShack and Pep Boy's. :D

Aaron
February 11th, 2004, 02:11 PM
Carl,
The AC adapter can be ANY adapter that is 12V DC 3.33 amp (higher amperage is fine too). The one that comes with it is basically a laptop supply.

It may be a bit hard to find at local Ratshack (they might be able to order it), Target, etc... BUT should be asy to find online.

here's a few hits using google...

http://www.mainelectronics.com/acadater.htm
http://support.radioshack.com/support_supplies/doc34/34380.htm