PDA

View Full Version : Need a touchscreen for wall mounting



Promixis
September 30th, 2004, 08:41 PM
I really want to wall mount a touch screen panel for NR. Maybe even something that is detachable. Must be faster then a simpad. Any size between 7-14". Must run NR :D

Any suggestions?

ebariaux
October 1st, 2004, 12:31 AM
Might want to check:
http://www.coraccess.com/ and http://www.nobuusa.com/Product/12TouchPanel.htm#

I've not used any of them though so I don't know if NR runs or how they respond or whatever.

Promixis
October 1st, 2004, 05:06 PM
$$$$$$$$$ :D:D:D:D

Ok, anything around $1000???

harleydude
October 1st, 2004, 07:00 PM
How about $1500.00?????

http://www.automatedoutlet.com/product.php?productid=381&cat=95&page=1

Rick

Promixis
October 1st, 2004, 08:52 PM
Rick,

Thats getting better!

Still major overkill for what I want to do with. 80g harddrive!

What about a touchscreen that would work as a client off my 2003 server?

danward79
October 2nd, 2004, 04:45 AM
Perhaps you could have a second monitor, and a cheap vga touch screen?

Anyway, I thought you had no time to program it!

:wink:

Dan

Promixis
October 2nd, 2004, 07:55 AM
Perhaps you could have a second monitor, and a cheap vga touch screen?

Anyway, I thought you had no time to program it!

:wink:

Dan

Oh, I haven't told you yet, but I was going to get you to do it :D:D:D

danward79
October 2nd, 2004, 08:00 AM
:roll:

I'll add it to the back page of my todo list....

:wink:

Dan

jwilson56
October 2nd, 2004, 09:51 PM
How about a Fujitsu 3400 or Progear. They both run 400MHZ which would easily run NR as a client. Also they are both passive touch screen.

They can be had on Ebay.

John

mhwlng
October 3rd, 2004, 04:22 AM
see here :

http://www.kws-computer.de/kwscom/pro86E.html
the 'fred' is MIPS based (ce.net 4.1) and the 'quadras' is x86 based (ce.net 4.2)....
so you'd need Ben to create a build for these processors

the (german!) pricelist is here:
http://www.kws-computer.de/pdf/preise.pdf

We use the 'quadras' for one of our products (800x600 touch screen, no hard disk, no fans, windows ce.net 4.2 + application fits on 32Mb CF card, using c# and dotnet compact framework )....
(here's a screenshot of the app. running on the 'quadras' : http://piazza.iaehv.nl/users/mhwlng/WEIGHT.jpg)


Marcel

Promixis
October 6th, 2004, 01:58 PM
Marcel,

These 2 look very interesting. I cannot find a us source :(.

They would be perfect. Low power, wall mount. Enough screen realestate to look cool but not be too large. Should be powerful enough for NR.

I wonder what ben would have to do...

mhwlng
October 6th, 2004, 02:38 PM
I cannot find a us source

I'm sure that the good people of fedex, ups etc. deliver in Minneapolis :D

I assume that KWS only supply to businesses though....

note that the quadras is a modular system meant for OEM's.. so if you want everything in a nice box that you can mount ON TOP OF wall, you'd have to build a box... and maybe do some wiring...

If you're not an electronics geek like me, then you'd probably want to forget it :D

the 'fred' looks more suited to your requirements (especially the mobile version) I don't have one, so I can't tell you if it would work... the first thing you'd need is a MIPS build of netremote, which doesn't exist...

and ce.net doesn't do activesync so you'd have to install NR another way (you also probably need a little 'loader' application that loads NR at power up)

and according to the pricelist it's 1000-1500 EURO's

The quadras development kit with 12" touch screen is in a similar price range

the picture is the back of my development kit

the quadras is connected to the display via LVDS bus (not VGA)
power supply is 24V
the little printed circuit board is the touch screen controller (that is connected to one of the 4 serial ports of the quadras)

again, I can't test it with NR because a CE X86 build is not available


you CAN run normal windows on the quadras as well. then WIN32 NR would work without problems, (but then you'd need to mount a hard disk or use a microdrive or use windows 98 lite on cf card)....

Marcel

Promixis
October 6th, 2004, 06:55 PM
Hm, maybe not for me :(. Time wise....

Any other suggestions for an 8-10 touch screen ce/xp device that can be mounted in wall???

jwilson56
October 6th, 2004, 08:07 PM
I have seen some nice wall installed Progears that would work well for Netremote.

http://www.caseserve.com/cinemar/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=410&highlight=


John

Promixis
October 6th, 2004, 09:02 PM
Progear looks good. But is it fast enough?

Ebay has one at $300....

Promixis
October 6th, 2004, 09:51 PM
And what about this..

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=51119&item=5129254866&rd=1#ebayphotohosting

Promixis
October 6th, 2004, 10:39 PM
Or how about a SSF PC like this http://www.boldata.com/html/prod.cfm/view/1/list_id/218.htm

Plus a touch screen.

Promixis
October 6th, 2004, 10:51 PM
And finally, the airpanel...
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=3698&item=5127941538&rd=1

Is this a touchscreen or do you need a pen>?

jwilson56
October 7th, 2004, 06:59 AM
The Progear should be plenty fast for a Netremote client. Heck I run Netremote on Fujitsu Point 510's which are only 100MHZ and the Progear is 400MHZ. The Progear and Fujitsu 3400 are among the fastest tablets that still use a passive touch screen that is prefered over the active stylus type. The fastest passive screen tablet that I have seen is a Viewsonic Viewpad 1000 (had one and sold it) but it would not be ideal to wall mount it. It ran warm and had an anoying fan that came on and off. The Progears are quiet and passively cooled so they work well for wall mounting.

John

Promixis
October 7th, 2004, 03:18 PM
Thanks John.

I missed the one on Ebay.... $400.

Mark F
October 8th, 2004, 06:27 AM
Or how about a SSF PC like this http://www.boldata.com/html/prod.cfm/view/1/list_id/218.htm

Plus a touch screen.
FYI. That particular model is on it's last legs. There used to be ~30 suppliers of that model. Now there are 1-3. When I asked one of those suppliers, they were not getting new supplies. They were selling their final inventory.

Promixis
October 8th, 2004, 09:51 AM
Maybe I can get it cheaper then :D

Have you seen one? How hot does it run? Is it fanless?

Mark F
October 8th, 2004, 10:22 AM
I have a dead (used to be working) one in my kitchen. :(

It runs warm. It has a multi-speed fan. When turned on, the fan goes to max. As it figures out that it really isn't very hot, the fan slows down but never stops. If you placed this in an enclosed space, the heat build up would make it louder than I could deal with. In normal ambient, it is a whisper all the time.

Marsupial
October 8th, 2004, 10:36 AM
I have one PC like this
http://www.mp3car.com/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=22614
I plan to put in my car - its a 10.5" screen and have 400Mhz CPU. The device is strong to run MP3s but would require a PCMCIA card for DivX and DVD. This said, its supposely available from ebay for not much.

in particular, you might want to get this post:


Ok so if you are wanting to buy one of those 10.4" touchscreen kiosk units that have been so popular around here, this is the supplier.

Thread on units
http://www.mp3car.com/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=22614


CSI Asset Liquidation
918-437-3402

Ask for Greg.

I was quoted about $120 for the units plus $13 Shipping via DHL.

I sat on this info for about 3 months now, but I think it is wrong that there is money being made when the info should have been shared with all of us from the start.

Thread on units

Thread on units
http://www.mp3car.com/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=22614

Enjoy!

I enjoy this piece of machinery, but its a DIY kit running win98se with major pain to have XP running (read thread) or to upgrade.

Promixis
October 8th, 2004, 11:57 AM
I have a dead (used to be working) one in my kitchen. :(

It runs warm. It has a multi-speed fan. When turned on, the fan goes to max. As it figures out that it really isn't very hot, the fan slows down but never stops. If you placed this in an enclosed space, the heat build up would make it louder than I could deal with. In normal ambient, it is a whisper all the time.

Probably wouldn't work then - I would install it between walls (ie2x4) with the touch screen in front of it...

Promixis
October 8th, 2004, 12:00 PM
Mars,

Do you have some car pics?

Marsupial
October 8th, 2004, 12:32 PM
mike - as you read, it is on the planning phase.

http://www.modasylum.com/subs/marsupial/gallery/20040329-1001.jpg http://www.modasylum.com/subs/marsupial/gallery/20040329-1003.jpg

http://www.modasylum.com/subs/marsupial/gallery/20040329-1010.jpg http://www.modasylum.com/subs/marsupial/gallery/20040329-1014.jpg

NOTE: on this one I have the screen oriented protrait with a foreign software... its supposed to be 1024*768 while I used it 768*1024.


The device would take all the available room between the driver and passenger or take all the glove compartment.

I am now thinking about making it dual purpose and make it standalone (tablet PC with no battery) so it would run in car, but also as a music jukebox inside.

This said, I believe it would be perfect for in-wall install. its about 2 to 2.5 inch deep and have fixation holes for 4 screws on the sides.

Promixis
October 8th, 2004, 01:13 PM
Cool!

I checked the link on mp3car and all the pics are dead. Are they still available?

And can you do wifi on win98se? How on this device?

TimT
November 10th, 2004, 08:37 PM
And finally, the airpanel...
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=3698&item=5127941538&rd=1

Is this a touchscreen or do you need a pen>?

the airpanel uses a resistive touchscreen. You would have to hack it to run netremote, since it's meant to be used as a terminal client to a pc and starts up at a terminal login screen. I find some apps on the net that allow you do this but I never got a chance to try this with netremote.