Page 1 of 27 12311 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 262

Thread: NetRemote Designer Alpha information

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    6,559

    Default NetRemote Designer Alpha information

    Hello folks -
    I will be sending individuals the NetRemote Designer alpha tomorrow morning (at or before 9am EST).

    To successfully run the designer, it is necessary that you have downloaded and run NetRemote 1.0.20.0 on the machine you intend to run the designer on.

    This version is to be considered alpha, as some important pieces of functionality are not yet implemented. The list of unimplemented items is long, and it should be - this is alpha software. I have used the designer to successfully design two interfaces to about 95%. I then moved the ccf into Tonto to finish up.

    The following are some major unimplemented issues:
    * Currently only one file at a time may be opened (you can not copy and paste between files)
    * Undo only supported for move and resize, not other things (copy & paste, delete, etc.)
    * No support for learned IR codes (plugin actions, delay, and jump are the only implemented actions thus far)
    * Hardkeys for devices (called Page Groups in the designer) are not configurable.
    * ID tag must still be used for special types (this will be handled much more smoothly so you don't have to worry about the details).
    * Color schemes don't allow you to enter hex codes (RGB in decimal only) and don't allow for picking from a color onscreen.
    * No reordering of actions within action designer.

    To be an alpha/beta tester, you merely have to:
    * Have a registered copy of NetRemote
    * Be a member of the NetRemote forum
    * Ensure that I have your email address

    Even if I've told you that you are "in" for the alpha designer, please e-mail me so that I have your up-to-date email address to add to my alpha/beta mailing list. If you and I have not emailed before, please include your forum username so that I can properly identify you.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Cardigan, UK
    Posts
    9,278

    Default

    First impressions

    Very nice - I particularly like the display of loops and the loop editor
    I like the treeview too.

    Dragging a window, e.g. the properties window shows a grey fuzzy outline - which appears to be the same shade of grey as the window background, ie it disappears completely.

    The mouse wheel only scrolls the tree view/properties etc and not the editor
    which is a bit unintuitive when the mouse is over the editor.

    Selecting an item in the editor should select the corresponding item in the tree view.

    Should avid's plugins show any children on the plugins tab?

    There's some weird behaviour on the plugins tab - you can select an action e.g. "Force reconnect to Girder" but when you move the mouse the selection moves back to the previously selected action. However, you can make the selection persistent by right clicking on it while it's showing as selected.

    These are all pretty minor - this is going to be a great tool.
    --Rob

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Cardigan, UK
    Posts
    9,278

    Default

    The variables view is great - would be nice if it could show images too. Does slow NR down quite a lot though.

    There's no protection against quitting with an unsaved CCF.

    I had an interesting problem when using LDJ - I send the new interface to NR and it loads (occasionally the first time I do this it doesn't refresh the NR window completely, works if I do it again). This seems to cause all the usual startup things you'd expect, but none of the NR feedback works any more. Not quite sure why yet. I'm guessing that it thinks the client has disappeared.
    --Rob

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Cardigan, UK
    Posts
    9,278

    Default

    Variables view is only updated from the instance of NR that was active when NR Designer is started. Shutting down NR and getting NR Designer to start it up again leaves the same set of variables that were there from the original copy.

    It's fairly common in Girder apps (LDJ in particular) to create feedback labels of the form <basename><index> e.g. LDJ_DVD_Title_0
    It would be good if the variables view was actually a tree view and could collapse these into a single heading. Or would it be better use a different form of label e.g. LDJ_DVD_Title[0]. The reason I noticed this is the sort order, which is strictly alpha which of course shows LDJ_DVD_Cover_1, then LDJ_DVD_Cover_10 to 19 and then LDJ_DVD_Cover_2 etc. It looks a bit odd as it stands.

    Column widths are not persistent

    The designer seems to assume that the correct font to use is Pronto.ttf - rather than using the one specified in the running copy of NR.
    --Rob

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Cardigan, UK
    Posts
    9,278

    Default

    Exited from NR, then Sent the CCF to NR from the menu. NR starts up.
    Double clicked on a button in Designer and got this :-

    See the end of this message for details on invoking
    just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.

    ************** Exception Text **************
    System.Runtime.InteropServices.COMException (0x800706BA): The RPC server is unavailable.
    at NetRemoteLibrary.INetRemotePlugin.get_Name()
    at com.promixis.ElementProperties.UpdateActions()
    at com.promixis.ElementProperties.GoElement(NRIElemen t element)
    at com.promixis.MainForm.treeView1_DoubleClick(Object sender, EventArgs e)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.OnDoubleClick(EventAr gs e)
    at System.Windows.Forms.TreeView.WndProc(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ControlNativeWindow.OnMessage (Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(M essage& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)


    ************** Loaded Assemblies **************
    mscorlib
    Assembly Version: 1.0.5000.0
    Win32 Version: 1.1.4322.573
    CodeBase: file:///c:/windows/microsoft.net/framework/v1.1.4322/mscorlib.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    NRDesigner
    Assembly Version: 1.0.1865.39522
    Win32 Version: 1.0.1865.39522
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files/NR%20Designer/NRDesigner.exe
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Windows.Forms
    Assembly Version: 1.0.5000.0
    Win32 Version: 1.1.4322.573
    CodeBase: file:///c:/windows/assembly/gac/system.windows.forms/1.0.5000.0__b77a5c561934e089/system.windows.forms.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System
    Assembly Version: 1.0.5000.0
    Win32 Version: 1.1.4322.573
    CodeBase: file:///c:/windows/assembly/gac/system/1.0.5000.0__b77a5c561934e089/system.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Drawing
    Assembly Version: 1.0.5000.0
    Win32 Version: 1.1.4322.573
    CodeBase: file:///c:/windows/assembly/gac/system.drawing/1.0.5000.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/system.drawing.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    Interop.NetRemoteLibrary
    Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files/NR%20Designer/Interop.NetRemoteLibrary.DLL
    ----------------------------------------
    SandDock
    Assembly Version: 1.0.4.1
    Win32 Version: 1.0.4.1
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files/NR%20Designer/SandDock.DLL
    ----------------------------------------
    SandBar
    Assembly Version: 1.0.13.1
    Win32 Version: 1.0.13.1
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files/NR%20Designer/SandBar.DLL
    ----------------------------------------
    ICSharpCode.SharpZipLib
    Assembly Version: 0.5.0.0
    Win32 Version: 0.5.0.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files/NR%20Designer/ICSharpCode.SharpZipLib.DLL
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Xml
    Assembly Version: 1.0.5000.0
    Win32 Version: 1.1.4322.573
    CodeBase: file:///c:/windows/assembly/gac/system.xml/1.0.5000.0__b77a5c561934e089/system.xml.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Design
    Assembly Version: 1.0.5000.0
    Win32 Version: 1.1.4322.573
    CodeBase: file:///c:/windows/assembly/gac/system.design/1.0.5000.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/system.design.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    Accessibility
    Assembly Version: 1.0.5000.0
    Win32 Version: 1.1.4322.573
    CodeBase: file:///c:/windows/assembly/gac/accessibility/1.0.5000.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/accessibility.dll
    ----------------------------------------

    ************** JIT Debugging **************
    To enable just in time (JIT) debugging, the config file for this
    application or machine (machine.config) must have the
    jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section.
    The application must also be compiled with debugging
    enabled.

    For example:

    <configuration>
    <system.windows.forms jitDebugging="true" />
    </configuration>

    When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception
    will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the machine
    rather than being handled by this dialog.
    --Rob

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    6,559

    Default

    Thanks for the awesome feedback, Rob! Let me digest these, and implement changes as required in the designer.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Cardigan, UK
    Posts
    9,278

    Default

    Are the alignment and spacing buttons supposed to work in this version?

    It would be nice to have the keyboard shortcuts shown on the context menus.
    I've discovered that F2 seems to bring up the properties dialog.

    The NR emulator doesn't support the exit action - have to use the close box

    On the plugins page the actions are shown in alphabetical order, but on the actions tab for a button they're shown in IR code order.
    --Rob

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Cardigan, UK
    Posts
    9,278

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ben S
    Thanks for the awesome feedback, Rob! Let me digest these, and implement changes as required in the designer.
    You're welcome.

    I don't want to overwhelm you though.

    Would you prefer one item per message?
    --Rob

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    London UK
    Posts
    1,249

    Default

    Should avid's plugins show any children on the plugins tab?
    Not quite yet. I had use of an early version of Designer a couple of weeks ago, but had to request some additions to the interface by which a driver describes its actions. Ben says these are in the pipeline. So until I get those, I can't produce a self-describing driver.

    But beware - the preferred IR coding for many of the AvidUtils things (in particular text and drop-downs) *will change*. Actions in existing CCFs will continue to work but will not be easily editable. The actions will have new *preferred* IR codes as alternatives to the existing "legacy" codes which will be deprecated. So it will probably be necessary to delete AvidUtils actions and to re-insert them in order to get a good editing experience.

    Brian

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Cardigan, UK
    Posts
    9,278

    Default

    I'm not quite clear what purpose the emulator serves.

    You seem to be able to add buttons and frames using it.
    --Rob

Page 1 of 27 12311 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •