Page 1 of 10 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 96

Thread: NetRemote 2 - 2.0.0.99

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    6,559

    Default NetRemote 2 - 2.0.0.99

    Hello folks -

    We're happy to make NetRemote 2 2.0.99 available for your download.

    Please see the previous thread here for information about previous betas.

    Please this thread http://promixis.com/forums/showthread.php?t=15758 for pricing and licensing information

    You may download it here
    NetRemote 2 Suite.
    NetRemote 2 (PPC Cab).
    NetRemote 2 (CE 4.2.net Cab).

    Previous Version ( 2.0.0.98 )
    NetRemote 2 Suite.
    NetRemote 2 (PPC Cab).
    NetRemote 2 (CE 4.2.net Cab).

    2.0.0.99 - Posted 04-Jul-2007
    1. Fixed - CE 4.2 build now works properly
    2. Fixed - Media Center will now properly play AVI files when told to by NetRemote (in addition to mpg and wmv files)
    3. Fixed - Issue with LX PLAYNEXT not refreshing queue when executed on Playing Now
    4. Potential fix - Issue with forcing a reconnect in MediaBridge on two servers at the same time

    2.0.0.98 - Posted 08-May-2007
    1. Fixed - IR action SetPortNumber bombing NetRemote
    2. Fixed - MediaBridge not allowing the computer to shut down
    3. Added - Boolean parameter to the Lua Go* functions, which tells NetRemote not to warn on non-existent page
    4. Fixed - Sending IR codes through GlobalCache not working properly

    2.0.0.97 - Posted 05-May-2007
    1. Fixed - NetRemote loading semitransparent images incorrectly (when fix in NRD applied)
    2. Fixed - Lua SetImageVariable not working properly
    3. Fixed - Character conversions (when using ANSI encoding) when length of string > 255

    2.0.0.96 - Posted 30-Apr-2007
    1. Fixed - NRD locking trying to start communicating with NetRemote
    2. Added - Ability to set character encoding with MediaBridge communication (in options page of MediaBridge plugin) (defaults to UTF8)
    3. Added - Ability to change character encoding of Lua (defaults to UTF8)
    Code:
    NetRemote.SetCharacterEncoding('ANSI');
    NetRemote.SetCharacterEncoding('UTF8');
    cur_encoding = NetRemote.GetCharacterEncoding();
    4. Added - Ability to convert to and from UTF8 in Lua
    Code:
    utf8_str = ConvertToUTF8('string in ANSI format');
    ansi_str = ConvertFromUTF8('string in UTF8 format');
    2.0.0.95 - Posted 28-Apr-2007
    1. Fixed - Issue starting WMP on some computers
    2. Fixed - Alpha transparency is checked for frames when you click now, allowing you to have a styleized frame on top of buttons
    3. Fixed - Problems with foreign characters communicating with MediaBridge
    4. Changed - NetRemote variables are returned to Lua UTF-8 encoded (previously foreign characters would appear as ?, now will appear at UTF-8 encoded (funny characters))
    5. Changed - Parameters coming into NetRemote from Lua are now UTF-8 decoded
    Last edited by Rob H; July 4th, 2007 at 08:54 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    6,559

    Default

    Sorry about the 95 release, guys. The new NRD uses a different form of communication, and the switch to UTF8 within Lua broke the old communication model. It has been resolved in 96.

    Also, you should now be able to effectively disable UTF8 by switching your MediaBridge plugin to ANSI, and by telling Lua not to use UTF8 by adding the
    Code:
    NetRemote.SetCharacterEncoding('ANSI');
    to the top of your Lua file.

    This shouldn't be necessary in most cases for most people, though (as Marcel has shown) there are reasons you may need to.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    2,140

    Default

    the conversion to ansi (ConvertFromUTF8() or NetRemote.SetCharacterEncoding('ANSI')) , removes all the accented characters that were working fine before in 94

    (convert to utf8 works fine)...

    because avidutils dropdown doesn't support utf-8 and I can't convert from utf8 to something that displays properly in avidutils dropdown, I have to go back to 94,

    Marcel
    Last edited by mhwlng; May 1st, 2007 at 04:44 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    6,559

    Default

    Marcel - Can you give me other test strings? I tried this with the Maire Brenan (?) with the accented A in all of my test cases, and it converted back and forth as expected.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    2,140

    Default

    ah, I just noticed, the problem is not with your conversion functions, it's with NetRemote.SetVariable


    Code:
     
      NetRemote.SetVariable( "SelectedArtist", ConvertFromUTF8(NetRemote.GetVariable('MP.Artist')));
      print (ConvertFromUTF8(NetRemote.GetVariable('MP.Artist')));
      print (NetRemote.GetVariable( "SelectedArtist"));
    results in

    [33752] Ana´s Mitchell
    [33752] Anas Mitchell

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    6,559

    Default

    This is really a problem that you need to set the character encoding. Internal to NetRemote everything is unicode. It's coming in and out of Lua that is the issue here. You get a variable as UTF8, Convert it to ANSI, and then set a variable. NetRemote assumes the variable is coming in as UTF8 (it's encoding), so throws out the bad bytes.

    Either way, when it gets back into NetRemote it's converted to Unicode, so it won't "keep it" as ANSI.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    2,140

    Default

    the problem is that the variable is linked to avidutils dropdown, which doesn't support utf-8.

    (and neither do my own plugins, I might add)

    I don't see another solution/workaround.

    Marcel

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    2,140

    Default

    addition,

    if I add

    NetRemote.SetCharacterEncoding('ANSI');

    to my lua file

    then this (gac query result):

    artist = NetRemote.GetVariable('MP.ARTISTLIST.Items['..n..'].Name');

    correctly returns the ansi value

    but :

    NetRemote.SetVariable( 'ArtistList', artist);

    removes any accented characters

    Marcel

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    2,140

    Default

    Ben,

    any ideas about how to get around above problem ?

    could it be that NetRemote.SetVariable ignores the SetCharacterEncoding setting ?

    thanks,

    Marcel

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    6,559

    Default

    Maybe my test case is completely different than yours, as I can't replicate this.

    I've created a button with the name {NiceVar}. I then play a track with accented characters.

    I then click a button with this Lua code.

    Code:
    enc = NetRemote.GetCharacterEncoding();
    NetRemote.SetCharacterEncoding('ANSI');
    album = NetRemote.GetVariable('MP.Album');
    print('Album : '..album);
    NetRemote.SetVariable('NiceVar','Album : '..album);
    NetRemote.SetCharacterEncoding(enc);
    And NiceVar shows properly with accents on the button label.

    I've also tried just moving the NetRemote.SetCharacterEncoding('ANSI') to the top of my lua file (and removed them from the button) but it worked properly, also.

    Is it possible the action that sets the variable is happening before the character encoding?

    As an aside, I do see a potential problem with "mixed" encodings. If I have MediaBridge set to UTF8 and Lua set to ANSI, I can't execute a GAC request against something with accented colors, as Lua sends the request to MediaBridge as ANSI, but MediaBridge assumes it's UTF8.

Page 1 of 10 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •