Thread: Simple Question about Lua

Smile Simple Question about Lua

I am a beginner in Girder-lua, and I need to write a simple script to
    trigger an event periodically, Just want know two things that I found really hard to understand in the Help document.

1. gir.TriggerEventEx([eventstring], [eventdevice], [keymodifier],[payload] ... )
    where can I find the eventdevice? If I want to trigger a keystroke of "a", what device number should this event belongs to?

2. [Timer] = gir.CreateTimer([arm], [trigger], [cancel], [recurring],[childstate])
    [Timer]:Arm([timeout])
    If I want to, for example, to active an event once 5 sec, can I say

while(1)

--trigger the event
    t = gir.CreateTimer("", "", true, true)
    t:Arm(5000)

End

In fact I find this code does not set up a timer as I wanted, but I
    would hardly figure out the problem.
    It will be very helpful if someone could help me with those problems,
    thanks a lot.

There are a few ways to handle this. Could you describe the action to be taken when your event occurs?
    Rick

Girder 6.0 - Elk M1 Gold - JRMC 11.1 w/ M-Audio Delta 410 - NetRemote - BlueIris DVR
    Girder 6 Plugins - Elk M1/EZ8, Pushover Connector and more on the way.

Visit My Showcase

1. The easiest way to find the eventdevice numbers is to go to Settings>Plugins and when you select the various plugins it shows the deviceid's (I think its the same as the event device but don't quote me on that). On the rest of it I'm not sure as I'm learning Lua too.

local eventFunction = function()

--Trigger your event

end

t = gir.CreateTimer("", eventFunction, "", true, true)
    Put that into a file called something like "triggerevent.lua" and stick it in the "Girder5\luascript\startup" and it will trigger your event every 5 seconds. That much I do know because I have something similar to grab song title info from my xbox media center every 5 seconds.
    - John H