Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: No Girder connection between client/host when running on separate computers

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    7

    Default No Girder connection between client/host when running on separate computers

    This software is truly a great product but unfortunately not able to connect between NetRemote and Girder installed on 2 different computers running Windows XP. Funny thing is in troubleshooting the problem, when NR and Girder are run on the same machine, the "Girder Connection Status" show a green thumbs up and the connection is fine. If however, I shut down Girder on Machine A and run Girder on Machine B and keep Net Remote running on Machine A, the Girder Connection Status in NetRemote changes to a red thumbs down. I completetly reinstalled both NR and Girder on both machines to ensure a clean installation after experiencing this very frustrating problem..

    The settings are essentially the default settings with the default Server password "girder" and default server port (20005) in the Communications Server tab in Girder; the settings in NetRemote in the Automation tab are also running the default settings; the settings in "Properties:Plugins" in NetRemote shows a good connection and the Test button shows Test Complete without any errors (even when I show a bad connection and a red thumbs down in the "Girder Connection Status", I will still see a good connection in the Girder properties of this plugin screen in Net Remote. Incidentatly when the girder connection status shows a red thumbs down on Machine B, the "Known Clients" box is showing the Machine A computer in the box so it would seem that that there is a good Girder connection. Problem is the log screen does not show any activity besides confirming that there is a good Girder connection (log shows the macine A client being added and registered and then states Connected and then states Synchronizing client...) For example i have added in the Net Remote designer an action item to send that a Net Remote button has been depressed (Communications Server.. Details...) but this will only show in the log screen when NR and Girder are both running on Machine A; when I exit out of Girder on Machine A and run on Machine B, I do NOT see anything in the log screen in Girder when i depress the same buttons.

    I've looked generally at the forums and the user guides and have NO idea what the problem could be. Would really appreciate the gudance because really want to get this working and enjoy the very very cool features and capabilities Girder and Netremote offers. This is one of the coolest software driven Home theater devices I've came across in years!

    I really appreciate any help that anyone can provide.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Cardigan, UK
    Posts
    9,278

    Default

    Enable Autodiscovery in the first page of File|Properties and try deleting the Girder plugin instance in NetRemote on the machine that's failing to connect.

    Close and restart NetRemote.
    --Rob

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    7

    Default Still having same problem

    I confirmed auto discovery was enabled in NetRemote and then deleted the girder plug in for Machine B and then shut down and restarted Net Remote. Still have the same problem; the log details shows that Machine A is connecting to Girder on Machine B but then key presses and for e.g., pushing the weather button on "Other" does not show in the Girder log screen. Below is the copied log display when performing your requested actions. I also tried resetting my Linksys WRT 300N router and reflashed the firmware thinking this may have something to do with my problem. No luck. Hopefully this login info will be helpful in helping you figure out what is going wrong here. You can see the last item on the log detail is "Syncrhonising client" and then whatever I do on NetRemote does not show until i close out and then it will show on the log details that I am closing and exiting the connection. One thing that DOES confirm I'm connected is if i update for e.g., my geographical zipcode for the weather information it will also update on NetRemote to show the new updated weather info..

    Thanks for the help!

    Time Date Source Details Payloads
    03:00:53:114 3/27/2008 NetRemote Synchronising client KUMON-HQ-LAP94 {06f6bed5-50b0-479d-af27-4d3819507b49}
    03:00:53:114 3/27/2008 NetRemote Connected
    03:00:53:113 3/27/2008 NetRemote Starting feedback thread for KUMON-HQ-LAP94
    03:00:48:608 3/27/2008 Communication Server New Client Connection 192.168.1.100 4068
    03:00:48:609 3/27/2008 NetRemote Registering NR client
    03:00:48:609 3/27/2008 NetRemote Adding client 192.168.1.100
    03:00:48:609 3/27/2008 NetRemote Connection from 192.168.1.100:4068
    03:00:48:609 3/27/2008 Communication Server Connection Authenticated 192.168.1.100 NetRemote
    03:00:47:421 3/27/2008 Communication Server Existing Client GIRDER JEKM-MINI-CTR 192.168.1.106 20005
    03:00:47:422 3/27/2008 Girder2Girder Found Client: KUMON-HQ-LAP94
    03:00:47:422 3/27/2008 Girder2Girder Found Client: KUMON-HQ-LAP94
    03:00:47:422 3/27/2008 Girder2Girder Found Client: KUMON-HQ-LAP94
    03:00:47:422 3/27/2008 Communication Server: Servers Server (GIRDER): JEKM-MINI-CTR, @ 192.168.1.106:20005
    03:00:27:697 3/27/2008 NetRemote Exiting feedback thread for KUMON-HQ-LAP94
    03:00:27:697 3/27/2008 NetRemote Closing client for KUMON-HQ-LAP94
    03:00:27:697 3/27/2008 NetRemote Unregistering NetRemote client 192.168.1.100:3837
    03:00:27:697 3/27/2008 NetRemote Connection closing 192.168.1.100:3837
    03:00:27:695 3/27/2008 Communication Server Close Connection 192.168.1.100 3837
    03:00:27:695 3/27/2008 Communication Server Close Connection

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Cardigan, UK
    Posts
    9,278

    Default

    First of all let me state that I'm suffering from a cold so my thought processes may not be as good as they should be.

    I'm a bit confused as to the situation. How many copies of Girder are you running? If it's more than one can you check that NR isn't actually sending information to a different Girder?
    --Rob

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Very basic setup right now to troublshoot the problem. Girder is only running on Machine B and Netremote is running on Machine A. When I start NetRemote on Machine B with Girder as well running on Machine B, everything seems to work fine...problem is when i exit NR from Machine B and just run on Machine A.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Cardigan, UK
    Posts
    9,278

    Default

    And Girder on Machine B can send data to Machine A, but not receive commands? Is that correct?
    --Rob

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    7

    Default help

    Yes, that's correct, as far as I can tell. Girder can send commands (such as updated weather info) to NR on Machine A but Girder on Machine B can NOT receive any commands other than when I close out of NR, it will terminate and close its connection with Machine A. Please help

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Cardigan, UK
    Posts
    9,278

    Default

    Okay, in the CCF that you're trying to send from can you check which plugin instance you are trying to use to send a command? It rather sounds as though you are sending to an instance that doesn't exist any more. As a general rule, you should use the default plugin instance of -1 which will be mapped to one of the real instances, rather than using e.g. -2101 or whatever, unless you are attempting to talk to two instances of Girder from the same CCF.
    --Rob

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    7

    Default

    I did as you instructed earlier to enable autodiscovery of the Girder connection and then removed the Girder plug-in, so when the NR starts up it is loggin in I would presume the appropriate Girder plugin with the appropropriate default plug-in instance. Also, more than the fact that Machine B is not receiving any "commands", the bigger problem is that it is not receiving ANYTHING in the log details. For, e.g, when NR is run on Machine B with Girder, when maneuvering around on the menu screens in NR including for eg the weather tab, the Girder log details shows activity; but when NR is running on Machine A, I don't see anything at all in the log details. Still seems something is wrong with the connection between Machine A and B...

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Cardigan, UK
    Posts
    9,278

    Default

    Yes, but it depends upon the exact action that's stored in your CCF.

    Post the CCF here and I can take a look at it, or email it to me. Unless this is a Promixis supplied CCF that is?
    --Rob

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •