Page 1 of 34 12311 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 335

Thread: NetRemote Designer 2.0.0 BETA

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 1998
    Location
    Jupiter, FL
    Posts
    13,541

    Default NetRemote Designer 2.0.0 BETA

    Guys Rob has done some amazing work with the NetRemote Designer and is very proud to give you the first beta build for wider testing:

    NetRemote Designer 2.0.0 BETA BUILD 17


    Here is what has changed since NRD 1.0

    • Changed to use new component suite for unified look.
    • Added "Look and Feel" submenu to "Tools" menu
    • Scheme and image pickers now support setting of background colours
    • Image picker has for a long time shown the number of references to an image - clicking on that message will now bring up a dialog with the list of elements that reference the image.
    • Identical unnamed schemes are now merged on loading
    • The main CCF tree now shows the correct fonts for individual elements and also adds Position and Size columns with inline editing of both those and the element name.
    • Plugin action configuration dialogs have changed layout slightly and now use spin controls for numeric values.
    • When controls are selected various context sensitive buttons are now placed around the selection e.g. if multiple controls are selected then alignment controls will appear. This change has necessitated adding a border around the page, so crop marks have been added to indicate the boundary of the page.
    • Added continuous zooming of the current page from 0.25 to 4 times the size of the original.
    • Double click on the zoom factor label to restore this to 1:1. Can also use Ctrl+Mouse wheel or a zoom key on a keyboard to adjust this in 0.1 increments.
    • Added a "Show transparent frame" menu option which will show a transparent frame in an alpha-transparent pink colour.
    • Added "Show parents of selection" button to the toolbar, which displays any transparent parents ofthe current selection in an alpha-transparent pale blue.
    • Added Centering buttons to the context sensitive buttons.
    • Restored the Copy look command - this is slightly different from the copy/paste since it also works with frames
    • Element properties:
      • Text alignment now shows a graphical dropdown for the text alignment
      • Improved font selector (I hope)
      • Action designer now displays a wait cursor while the plugin tree is being populated.
      • Several controls now provide immediate feedback, e.g. font, wordwrap, text alignment, padding
      • Added "swap button states" button.

    • Looped frames now show a small (9pt Courier New) gray loop index value in the top left corner of each child
    • Lots of refactoring to conform to MS style guidelines
    • Added 'Fade base template' button to toolbar to help clarify which elements are on the actual pagebeing edited and which are on the base template.
    • Locked elements now show a reddish selection outline.
    • States are now shown in the tree.
    • Added multiple selection to the tree
    • If there are multiple elements selected, the first selected element's selection rectangle will bedrawn with smaller dots, to distinguish it from the other elements in the selection. This is important for various options, e.g. Copy Look.
    • Elements in the tree using <^> notation now show the resolved name in a tooltip.
    • Added "Zoom to fit" button to the scaling toolbar
    • The Lua console and the two variable inspectors are now dockable
    • Send to NetRemote now prompts to save the file (and saves it) if it has been modified.
    • Major addition: Component gallery - see Tools|Component gallery and the "Add component from gallery" context menu item.
    • Now saves separate folder names for loading and saving CCFs and images
    • New image picker with extensive filtering capabilities. Also shows the number of references with a dropdown
      that lists them. Selecting a reference from this list selects the corresponding button or frame in the editor.
    • Major addition: Edit|Find - supports searching for strings in Button and frame names, Page and group names, States, Image variables, Hard keys and Actions.
      Once you've found the matches, just click on the result list to immediately jump to that item in the tree
    • Added "Component lock" which locks a frame and all its contents

    I would like to especially highlight the component gallery. Here you will find ready made components (or controls) that can be dropped onto a CCF! This will for example make it real easy to use Device Manager Controls from Girder once all Components for that have been created. (Slider is provided already)
    Last edited by Rob H; November 16th, 2009 at 03:40 PM. Reason: Changed build number
    Ron
    No support through PM

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 1998
    Location
    Jupiter, FL
    Posts
    13,541

    Default

    Build 0
    Initial Release
    Ron
    No support through PM

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 1998
    Location
    Jupiter, FL
    Posts
    13,541

    Default

    Build 1

    • Fixed Vista 64 issues with SciLexer
    • Fixed missing SciLexer.DLL
    • Fixed Lua state rules
    Ron
    No support through PM

  4. #4

    Default

    Lua states fix confirmed, thanks.

    Maybe it's just the way I work but at first glance I find this version more difficult to use than v1. The pop up controls for spacing and alignment are not useful for me as I rarely use them and they therefore get in the way. I always preferred using more precise positioning by viewing the x/y coordinates and size of similar controls in the bottom right corner and replicating the appropriate coordinate or size exactly, again using the same input boxes that used to be in the bottom right corner. I found this simple and easy to use whereas I find the new controls rather fiddly.

    I appreciate you can see the coordinates and size of other controls in the left bar but to be able to see them you have to stretch the bar - sometimes a lot - and this uses up valuable workspace. Is there any chance the simple display and input box in the bottom right could return and an option be added for the other pop up controls to be switched off?

    (EDIT - Ok after a little experimenting I'm getting it now with the alignment buttons and can see how useful they can be but I'd still like to see the return of the location info in the bottom left or somewhere else easy to read and edit)
    Last edited by Jlee; August 24th, 2008 at 09:56 PM.
    JLee
    OpusNR & JLee CCF/GML available in the downloads section.

  5. #5

    Default

    Zoom to fit is a great addition - thanks.

    The new colour scheme panel is better too but it would be good if when you sort by name it could be made to stick.
    JLee
    OpusNR & JLee CCF/GML available in the downloads section.

  6. #6

    Default

    Is this is bug... I have 3 adjacent frames each with some text in them. If I select the first and Ctrl C then select the other 2 and Ctrl V to paste some attributes (in this case I select Font and Colour) the attributes are only copied to one of the frames.
    JLee
    OpusNR & JLee CCF/GML available in the downloads section.

  7. #7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jlee View Post
    Lua states fix confirmed, thanks....
    Correction... after a few hours editing and many saves later the Lua states are gone again. And the changes I was making were no where near these buttons.

    As I've done a lot of work on my CCF I don't really want to revert to my back up copy. Is there an easy way of finding out which buttons had lua states without going through the whole ccf? Edit - scrap that - of course lua states are used extensively on all my GAC+ panels so I'll just have to revert again - shucks
    Last edited by Jlee; August 25th, 2008 at 01:34 AM.
    JLee
    OpusNR & JLee CCF/GML available in the downloads section.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Cardigan, UK
    Posts
    9,278

    Default

    Damn, sorry about that - I'll see if I can find other possible causes for problems with Lua states. It is just Lua states right?

    It would probably be useful if you (and others could start new threads for bugs in NRD as I'm probably going to end up missing them if they all get posted here.
    --Rob

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Cardigan, UK
    Posts
    9,278

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jlee View Post
    Is this is bug... I have 3 adjacent frames each with some text in them. If I select the first and Ctrl C then select the other 2 and Ctrl V to paste some attributes (in this case I select Font and Colour) the attributes are only copied to one of the frames.
    I think that's behaviour carried over from the previous version, but I'll see if I can fix it.
    --Rob

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Cardigan, UK
    Posts
    9,278

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jlee View Post
    Lua states fix confirmed, thanks.

    Maybe it's just the way I work but at first glance I find this version more difficult to use than v1. The pop up controls for spacing and alignment are not useful for me as I rarely use them and they therefore get in the way. I always preferred using more precise positioning by viewing the x/y coordinates and size of similar controls in the bottom right corner and replicating the appropriate coordinate or size exactly, again using the same input boxes that used to be in the bottom right corner. I found this simple and easy to use whereas I find the new controls rather fiddly.

    I appreciate you can see the coordinates and size of other controls in the left bar but to be able to see them you have to stretch the bar - sometimes a lot - and this uses up valuable workspace. Is there any chance the simple display and input box in the bottom right could return and an option be added for the other pop up controls to be switched off?

    (EDIT - Ok after a little experimenting I'm getting it now with the alignment buttons and can see how useful they can be but I'd still like to see the return of the location info in the bottom left or somewhere else easy to read and edit)
    I'll see if I can find a good compromise solution to this - I'm not keen on putting it at the bottom left of the window. Perhaps a floating editor that shows the coordinates near the selection? That would mean less mouse movement. Incidentally, if you right click on the tree's header you can remove the position and size columns, but this currently doesn't persist.
    --Rob

Page 1 of 34 12311 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •