Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 36

Thread: Ksnoopy's Remote Wonder plugin bug

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    20

    Default Ksnoopy's Remote Wonder plugin bug

    Hello !

    First of all thanks to Ksnoopy for having developped that plugin.

    BUT...

    We are several people now that have some troubles running the Girder plugin itself, having a "could not load atirw.dll" error on Girder startup, and so the plugin is not listed in the plugin list.

    Is there anyone that has succeded in making the plugin work ?

    Ksnoopy ? Have you any idea of what's happening ?

    (For me it's Win98SE, Grider 3.2, RW 1.2)

    Thanks.

    Philip.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 1998
    Location
    Jupiter, FL
    Posts
    13,550

    Default

    Did you read the documentation ? It says that you need some extra libraries to make it work. Other then that I don't know what is wrong.
    Ron
    No support through PM

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 1998
    Location
    Jupiter, FL
    Posts
    13,550

    Default

    from the readme.txt
    seems pretty clear to me.

    How to install:
    1. Install ATI Remote Wonder software version 1.2
    http://www.ati.com/support/drivers/m...onder-1-2.html
    2. Install Girder v3.2+
    3. Copy atigdr.dll to C:\Program Files\ATI Multimedia\RemCtrl\Plug-Ins
    4. Copy atirw.dll to C:\Program Files\girder32\plugins
    5. Launch ATI Remote Wonder software.
    5. Right click on the system tray icon and select Properties.
    6. Click on the Plug-Ins tab.
    7. Click Import, and choose "atigdr.dll"
    8. Launch girder
    9. Click File|Settings
    10. Click on the plugins tab
    11. Check the box next to the "ATI Remote Wonder Plugin"
    Ron
    No support through PM

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 1998
    Location
    Jupiter, FL
    Posts
    13,550

    Default

    RW 1.2 <= Remote Wonder Drivers
    i see.

    I don't have the ati hardware.

    Yeah KSnoopy used the Visual C++ 7, so you might need the .net :evil: libs. Search the MS homepage, I have no clue about this. Maybe someone with this hardware would do us all a favour and recompile it with VC6.
    Ron
    No support through PM

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 1998
    Location
    Jupiter, FL
    Posts
    13,550

    Default

    http://www.daimi.au.dk/~vedel/micros...ET/win/system/

    So MS releases a new version of their compiler but the do not offer a download of these rather important libraries. How hard are they trying to loose customers ? I surely won't buy the new compiler, I'll stick with VC6, works just fine for me.
    Ron
    No support through PM

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 1998
    Location
    Jupiter, FL
    Posts
    13,550

    Default

    I tried to recompile the plugin with my copy of VC6, but because I do not have the ATI hardware it won't let me install the SDK, so someone else has to do this.

    Or if someone could find a 'legal' download of these libraries that would be good too.
    Ron
    No support through PM

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 1998
    Location
    Jupiter, FL
    Posts
    13,550

    Default

    Ron
    No support through PM

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Has anyone noticed that this remote uses X10 remote technology? Isn't it possible to adapt the X10 driver to work with this device more transparently?
    Author of Zoom Player

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 1998
    Location
    Jupiter, FL
    Posts
    13,550

    Default

    Start a new thread with DETAILED information about this problem. ( that means unload all plugins and see if the problem persists )
    Ron
    No support through PM

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    1

    Default sorry about that

    Sorry to everyone who couldn't load the plugin. After checking into it I realized I build the dlls with the /MD switch instead of the /MT switch. The /MD switch tells the compiler to use the dll version of the C runtime, and not many people have the VC7 version. So I rebuilt them a new version telling it to staticly link to the C runtime, so it should work for everyone. It should be on this site soon. Look for v1.1b at the main girder download page:
    http://www.girder.nl/downloadn.php

    Please let me know if this cures the problem.

    I also reworked the ATI software plugin have a configure option so you can tell it not to override the mouse buttons, so it will retain the original mouse functionality.

    Thanks,
    ksnoopy

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •