Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: How-To Install LUA code ???

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    519

    Default How-To Install LUA code ???

    I have searched all the PDFs and online and cannot find this. Either this is well hidden or not doc's or hidden in plain sight?

    How do you install the LUA? The GML loads without issue.

    I put it in the luascript\Components folder but it does not show up in Component Manager?
    Aaron
    ----------
    My Setup:
    XBMC Media Center, Whole-House Audio, Paradigm-Onkyo-Parasound-Velodyne, 65" Mits 1080p DLP, EventGhost, Homeseer

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    1,125

    Default

    Could you be more specific? What lua file are you trying to install?
    Rick

    Girder 6.0 - Elk M1 Gold - JRMC 11.1 w/ M-Audio Delta 410 - NetRemote - BlueIris DVR
    Girder 6 Plugins - Elk M1/EZ8, Pushover Connector and more on the way.


    Visit My Showcase

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    519

    Default

    are there different ways of installing LUA code?

    I'm trying to install the Onkyo control code.
    Aaron
    ----------
    My Setup:
    XBMC Media Center, Whole-House Audio, Paradigm-Onkyo-Parasound-Velodyne, 65" Mits 1080p DLP, EventGhost, Homeseer

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    1,125

    Default

    Looks like that file needs to be installed in the girder5\plugins\serial folder. It is using the older style of writing plugins. Then go to File\Settings on the main screen click Plugins. Select the Serial tab and setup the device there.
    Rick

    Girder 6.0 - Elk M1 Gold - JRMC 11.1 w/ M-Audio Delta 410 - NetRemote - BlueIris DVR
    Girder 6 Plugins - Elk M1/EZ8, Pushover Connector and more on the way.


    Visit My Showcase

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    519

    Default

    I did as you stated but there is no Serial tab anywhere... I checked all the settings/config locations.

    Where is the documentation on this?

    UPDATE: I figured it out. You must Add Generic Serial, then go through 3 other menus to add the LUA plug-in... WOW. Definite need for improvement here. Maybe a definition file to tell Girder what to do with the script should come with plug-in.

    The more feature I use the more frustrating it is that everything seems so disjointed.
    Last edited by Aaron; March 27th, 2009 at 01:00 AM.
    Aaron
    ----------
    My Setup:
    XBMC Media Center, Whole-House Audio, Paradigm-Onkyo-Parasound-Velodyne, 65" Mits 1080p DLP, EventGhost, Homeseer

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Cardigan, UK
    Posts
    9,278

    Default

    This is one reason why we're trying to phase out the old style serial plugins.
    --Rob

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    519

    Default

    I still cannot get it to work.

    The LUA is installed, the Serial tab shows and I have selected COM1 and it says the communications with the Onkyo are fine.

    BUT
    ... When I click on the GML actions nothing happens
    ... When I choose Receiver from device manager it says No Devices and the drop-down does not have any options.
    ... when I choose Audio/Video in COmponent Manager, Onkyo does not show up

    ???

    So of the 2 million different possible locations it could need to be setup in G5 (I'm exaggerating, but not by much) I cannot find out how to use the plug-in once it is installed.

    help please
    Aaron
    ----------
    My Setup:
    XBMC Media Center, Whole-House Audio, Paradigm-Onkyo-Parasound-Velodyne, 65" Mits 1080p DLP, EventGhost, Homeseer

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Dearborn, MI
    Posts
    1,968

    Default

    Just curious... did you turn on the Generic Serial plugin under the Settings/Plugins?
    John

    Now Playing skin creator

    Girder 5.0 / Elk-M1EZ8 / Ocelot / SECU-16IR /SECU-16I / SECU-16 / BobCat Humidity
    JRMC 11.1 / M-Audio Delta 410 / Xitel HIFI Pro / Xitel HIFI Link
    NetRemote 2.0 / 6 Zone whole house audio delivering 1580 watts RMS total
    ELO 15" Touchscreen, Nokia 770 and Advent 3500PC Mobile PC 7" TS
    Droid 2 Global

    Click here to visit my Nowplaying Showcase Blog

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    519

    Default

    yes, proof ...
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	serial.jpg 
Views:	148 
Size:	42.4 KB 
ID:	5501  
    Aaron
    ----------
    My Setup:
    XBMC Media Center, Whole-House Audio, Paradigm-Onkyo-Parasound-Velodyne, 65" Mits 1080p DLP, EventGhost, Homeseer

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Cardigan, UK
    Posts
    9,278

    Default

    I wouldn't expect any devices in Device Manager since there's no provider included.

    Not sure why the GML doesn't work though, do you see any errors in the Lua console?
    --Rob

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •