Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: restricted user problem with girder and MR

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    278

    Default restricted user problem with girder and MR

    Hello,

    I'vew an odd problem: I want to run MR in a restricted user profile on XP home (EeeTop Touch-PC), but this very machine also runs girder, which i want to protect against manipulation. So a restricted user seems to do the job. But...


    I got no connection to girder, even with another admin user (only the original worked).

    Playing around with tools like NT Wrapper lite to make girder run as a service did'nt help, at least i used a batchfile to start MR and Girder with RunAsSpc starting them as an admin on command line ...


    ... sounds complicated? That's why i want to know if there's another slim way to do the same in a more elegant way.


    Btw: the batch file does start both when Windows is up and running. A Shortcut or even copy in the allUsers-Autostart folder seems to start too early ad doesn't work.



    Thanks desperately,

    Christian
    ---Simon

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Cardigan, UK
    Posts
    9,278

    Default

    What is MR?
    --Rob

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    278

    Default MR means MULTIroom (which is NR)

    Hi Rob

    sorry for the confusion.

    We have a branded version of Netremote which is called Multiroom (MR). So MR and NR is the same for us.

    Christian
    ---Simon

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Cardigan, UK
    Posts
    9,278

    Default

    Ah, sorry, I should have realised!

    In what way is the user profile restricted, ie what permissions etc. have been removed from it?

    Also, what sort of firewall is running? Can you connect to Girder on this machine from another machine on the network or is it just hidden completely?
    --Rob

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    71

    Default Girder/NR Start behaviour

    That was also a problem I went thru. If I use autostart Girder and NR on the same machine. Sometimes Girder works sometimes it doesn't. If it doesn't I have to start it manually a second time and it works then(first killing the hanging girder.exe that seems to be doing nothing more at all). I am working now with the updated watchdog from Ron 511A. But also with this nifty tool you can't be aware that girder.exe is running o.k.. Best would be to run Girder as a service. If it is running as a service you could make the service dependent of others, so it shouldn't run before any needed windows services. An better than that you can restart the service easily remotely.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    71

    Cool

    FYI, I wanted to update how I managed to run all via autostart.
    I created a batch-file in the autostart folder. Additionally I downloaded the sleep.exe from http://unattended.msfn.org/unattended.xp/view/web/10/

    What me really frustrated was I wasn't able to run NR after Girder was started. NR did go to death every time. So I tried NR before Girder and that was working like a charm. See the example attached! Pay attention, the autostart function for Girder is only selected in Watchdog not in Girder itself.

    One thing I must say about my environment is that the PC isn't very performant. It's only an Epia Eden M1000 Board. But all is working fine now with 6 Serial Ports and a Touch-Screen.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 1998
    Location
    Jupiter, FL
    Posts
    13,541

    Default

    This is removed Vista forward as far as I can tell.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of..._Windows_Vista
    Ron
    No support through PM

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    71

    Default

    The printscreen was from an Windows 2008 Datacenter Server x64.
    It is also available on my Win7 x86 pc but as you told it is dependent on the new Service "Interactive Services Detection" as I understand. I don't think it would only be modifying some bits or bytes. I think for professional usage of for example PEAC there would be no way without an option to use it as a service. But then you normaly use a service-account and in this circumstance you have then no checkbox to enable "allow ...".

    For my usage it is not really necessary as long as I don't have use of it.

    An option to secure the tablet could be if you start in full mode and don't host an "close-Button";-)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 1998
    Location
    Jupiter, FL
    Posts
    13,541

    Default

    PEAC does run as a service as it does not interact with the desktop. (or on Linux for that matter).
    Ron
    No support through PM

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    278

    Cool girder running as a service

    PEAC is running as a service because of no desktop interaction - ok,
    but:
    this could be the samewith girder and NR. Girder running as a service and NR running as a programm - i see no reason why this shouldn't work. Then i could use the desktop of a restricted user to show the NR screen while girder is running in background, and i can administer it with an admin user profile without need to interrupt it by a user profile change.

    Or did i misunderstand something?


    For now i secured the panel the way zarri recommended, the fullscreen NR has a hidden "toggle fullscreen" button for service. Nevertheless it's running in an admin profile where self-made professionals can do some "non-ordered service work". To prevent that i added EWF filter, so if they don't find the file to save their changes to the system all is well again after a reboot.
    This was obsolete if girder could be run as a service...


    Cheers,
    Christian
    ---Simon

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •