View Poll Results: iPhone and Android support for Netremote?

Voters
48. You may not vote on this poll
  • iPhone and Android support is needed and I would pay an upgrade fee for it

    34 70.83%
  • iPhone and Android support would be nice but not a killer for me

    10 20.83%
  • I don't think iPhone and Android support is needed

    4 8.33%
Page 1 of 12 12311 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 119

Thread: NR needs iPhone and Android Support to Survive?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Dearborn, MI
    Posts
    1,968

    Default NR needs iPhone and Android Support to Survive?

    Do you think Netremote needs to have iPhone and Android support to survive in the coming years?
    John

    Now Playing skin creator

    Girder 5.0 / Elk-M1EZ8 / Ocelot / SECU-16IR /SECU-16I / SECU-16 / BobCat Humidity
    JRMC 11.1 / M-Audio Delta 410 / Xitel HIFI Pro / Xitel HIFI Link
    NetRemote 2.0 / 6 Zone whole house audio delivering 1580 watts RMS total
    ELO 15" Touchscreen, Nokia 770 and Advent 3500PC Mobile PC 7" TS
    Droid 2 Global

    Click here to visit my Nowplaying Showcase Blog

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    119

    Default

    I know I have said this in a few other post and I only keep saying it because I really think there are a lot of people out there that don't understand how much can be done in HA with Girder/NR setup. NR really needs to support both to get those people on board.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Near some trees in Essex, UK
    Posts
    371

    Lightbulb

    Heres my 2 pence...

    1. Keep Girder Girdering as is.

    2. Keep NetRemote as is for windows/ppc/ce with the fantastic scripting/designing capabilities from NRD and comms to Girder.

    3. Build new version "i-Netremote" with limited capabilities due apple's non negotiable no scripting policy and allow people to try it free for 30 days and then realise they need the scriptability and offer a reduced purchase on the windows version (see point 2) that they should have bought in the first place.


    Sorted. Jim for president. I like beer. A lot.
    Last edited by VicVonDoom; March 28th, 2010 at 07:09 PM. Reason: Drunken spellegramme

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Dearborn, MI
    Posts
    1,968

    Default

    I have been trying to get an idea of how 'other' packages handles their iPhone and I am thinking it might be some version of a dedicated RDP into the server. If that is the case then you could have the scripting on the server and the iPhone would be a portal. Don't quote me on this as like I have said I am still trying to get some info on how it does it.
    Last edited by jwilson56; March 28th, 2010 at 10:46 PM.
    John

    Now Playing skin creator

    Girder 5.0 / Elk-M1EZ8 / Ocelot / SECU-16IR /SECU-16I / SECU-16 / BobCat Humidity
    JRMC 11.1 / M-Audio Delta 410 / Xitel HIFI Pro / Xitel HIFI Link
    NetRemote 2.0 / 6 Zone whole house audio delivering 1580 watts RMS total
    ELO 15" Touchscreen, Nokia 770 and Advent 3500PC Mobile PC 7" TS
    Droid 2 Global

    Click here to visit my Nowplaying Showcase Blog

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Near some trees in Essex, UK
    Posts
    371

    Default

    Fair point.

    Hows about this scenario...

    I'm upstairs, she's downstairs & junior vicvondoom is in his room.
    Who gets control? Do we all see the same? Do we need a £million video card to get sepaerate RDP screens just to see different stuff at the same time?

    I can do that all with my netremote's...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Cardigan, UK
    Posts
    9,278

    Default

    Well, NetRemote could implement its own RDP server (or something similar) and render directly to that rather than to a normal window. That's rather how I would envisage it working.
    --Rob

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Near some trees in Essex, UK
    Posts
    371

    Default

    Just so i'm clear here...Are you suggesting that NR could (in future theory) run multiple instances on the server & each i-whatever would connect to its own 'private' instance..?

    Kinda like a multiple NR monitor setup, But via RDPism..?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    525

    Default

    I have to agree that NetRemote without support for iphone (or i-something), android, or
    Windows Phone 7 is likely to be a dead end. Microsoft will continue to support windows ce for business use,
    but I doubt that many people will use a business ce device for home automation use. Win 7
    on tablets may have some NetRemote users, but there are going to be a lot more smart phones than tablets.

    NetRemote is far in advance of other software for interface development as far as I'm concerned.
    It would be a shame to have it stuck with an operating system that such
    a small share of the mobile device market.

    Peter

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Dearborn, MI
    Posts
    1,968

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by VicVonDoom View Post
    Just so i'm clear here...Are you suggesting that NR could (in future theory) run multiple instances on the server & each i-whatever would connect to its own 'private' instance..?

    Kinda like a multiple NR monitor setup, But via RDPism..?
    I am getting the impression this is how some others are doing it. It would make sense to do somthing like that so that your could still keep a lot of the functionality we now have on a device that can't handle it.
    John

    Now Playing skin creator

    Girder 5.0 / Elk-M1EZ8 / Ocelot / SECU-16IR /SECU-16I / SECU-16 / BobCat Humidity
    JRMC 11.1 / M-Audio Delta 410 / Xitel HIFI Pro / Xitel HIFI Link
    NetRemote 2.0 / 6 Zone whole house audio delivering 1580 watts RMS total
    ELO 15" Touchscreen, Nokia 770 and Advent 3500PC Mobile PC 7" TS
    Droid 2 Global

    Click here to visit my Nowplaying Showcase Blog

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    278

    Default

    It works perfect with a rdp client on the IPhone, I don't see your problem!!!

    Create as many rdp user as you need on your server and you can connect to your on private NR instance.

    And if your client is crashing, reboot and reconnect and you are where you have leaved the application! If I think at all the reconnect problems on the ppc's!!
    ---Simon

Page 1 of 12 12311 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •