Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 32

Thread: newbie needs help getting started with Girder-5 and PIR-1

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    14

    Default newbie needs help getting started with Girder-5 and PIR-1

    I have -
    o) Windows 7 computer
    o) PIR-1
    o) Girder 5
    o) Tek Pal remote

    I want to use my remote to control my Windows 7 computer. I have installed Girder 5, read instructions, and plugged in the PIR-1. I can't get Girder 5 to see this remote (or another one that I tried).

    The wizard directs me to install a plug-in, but I cannot find the plug-in to install. I seem to be missing something very basic.

    Please help.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 1998
    Location
    Jupiter, FL
    Posts
    13,553

    Default

    Which wizard are you talking about?

    Let's also make sure you hardware and drivers are uptodate.

    Download: http://www.promixis.com/forums/showt...ixis-IR-Studio

    This should show your PIR-1 (look at the status bar of the application). It should say the firmware version. The latest version is 5. If you are not on 5 update to it.

    Next update the Girder PIR-1 driver: http://promixis.com/pir-1.0.4.zip

    In Girder (under view->Settings->plugins) enable the PIR-1 plugin.

    Now press a button on a remote while pointing at the PIR-1. Inside Girder's log view (View->logger) you should see events coming in.
    Ron
    No support through PM

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    14

    Default

    Thanks. The step I was missing was the "enable the PIR-1 plugin".
    After enabling the PIR-1 plug-in, I was seeing commands come across the logger.

    Then, I downloaded the Promixis IR Studio, to check my firmware version, as you suggested. It was version 5. I clicked on the PIR-1 Firmware upgrader, to see what is there. It says COM1 (no other com ports); my PIR-1 is USB.

    Now, the firmware version is not being displayed on the status line of IR Studio.
    And, Girder 5 is no longer seeing my remote.

    I have a USB hard drive connected. Could it be interfering?

    What next?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    14

    Default

    I rebooted; no help. I unplugged/replugged the PIR-1 and now it is talking again.
    Yeah.

    My remote gives different codes every time I hit the buttons.
    I hit VOL+ button, get 3 lines.
    Hit it again, and get 3 different (but similar lines).

    How do I deal with this?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 1998
    Location
    Jupiter, FL
    Posts
    13,553

    Default

    When you pressed the firmware button you place the PIR-1 in USB-to-Serial mode and Girder won't find it until you unplug it. But you figured that out.

    Did you update the PIR-1 driver? (http://promixis.com/pir-1.0.4.zip)
    Ron
    No support through PM

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    14

    Default

    No I have not updated the PIR-1 driver.
    I have downloaded the zip file, but I could not find instructions on how to update the drivers.

    Can you point me at the instructions?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 1998
    Location
    Jupiter, FL
    Posts
    13,553

    Default

    Some docs are here: http://promixis.com/pir-1_doc.php

    Simply unzip the contents of that zip file into the Girder\Plugins directory. Make sure you closed Girder fully before you do so.
    Ron
    No support through PM

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    14

    Default

    Okay, thanks. I have updated drivers.

    Another question -

    Girder does not seem to be able to "learn" my Tek Pal remote. I tried another remote, and Girder learned some keys on it. The Tek Pal is a large-button remote for a vision-impaired person. Do you know if Girder should be able to learn this remote? The logger shows that the remote is sending stuff, but Girder cannot seem to figure it out. If this remote is not supported, is there another large-button remote that Girder can use?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 1998
    Location
    Jupiter, FL
    Posts
    13,553

    Default

    Try using the IR Studio to learn. It has a better algorithm built in. Then you can copy the generated CCF (ir codes) over to Girder for use.
    Ron
    No support through PM

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    14

    Default

    Thanks.

    Can you give me some hints on how to use IR Studio?
    "Help" is not working. Or, if you have some help files, I could grab those.
    Is "help" supposed to work? I can re-install if that would get it going.

    I tried "capture IR", "Capture Modulation", and "Calculate CCF" but I haven't been successful.
    What steps do I follow?
    Do I hold down the remote key, or just press it?

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •