Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Doesn't 5.1 save position of logger and LUA console windows in Windows 7 x64?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Risør - Norway
    Posts
    5,477

    Default Doesn't 5.1 save position of logger and LUA console windows in Windows 7 x64?

    I'm setting up a few new VMs with Windows 7 x64 to replace my rather aging XP VM's as automation servers (the hosts are Windows Server R2, with VMWare running on Xeon CPU's with 32 gig RAM - not that I think that matters, I just like to brag about it...), and I've hit one annoying snag: I want the windows to be like I have them on every start, and I just can't get the stuff to pop up like I have them when I close Girder. Is there a trick here, or is there a bug? (Yeah, I know Microsoft would call it a feature, but Promixis isn't Microsoft!)
    Tor - managing director of the Cinema Inferno home theater and multi-zone sound system with Girder running the show in the back, NetRemote as the GUI and Media Center 17, PowerDVD and ZoomPlayer as playback software
    Hobsyssel mastiffs: http://www.hobsyssel.no

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 1998
    Location
    Jupiter, FL
    Posts
    13,550

    Default

    You mean Girder isn't remembering it's last window position?
    Ron
    No support through PM

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Risør - Norway
    Posts
    5,477

    Default

    Hi, Ron! Happy holidays! Yeah, that's what I mean. Not even what windows that should be up. When it starts only the main window is up, even though that's the correct size from what I set it to.
    Tor - managing director of the Cinema Inferno home theater and multi-zone sound system with Girder running the show in the back, NetRemote as the GUI and Media Center 17, PowerDVD and ZoomPlayer as playback software
    Hobsyssel mastiffs: http://www.hobsyssel.no

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 1998
    Location
    Jupiter, FL
    Posts
    13,550

    Default

    Happy Holidays Tor.

    Well sometimes the main window is the correct size, that would be a bug I guess.
    Ron
    No support through PM

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 1998
    Location
    Jupiter, FL
    Posts
    13,550

    Default

    To elaborate further. I'm not sure why the logger and lua console don't remember their position. Unfortunately no more work is done on the G5 code base. So you'll have to just live with what it does currently.
    Ron
    No support through PM

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Risør - Norway
    Posts
    5,477

    Default

    Too bad. No tricks I can try to make it remember to push up the logger and console, and have them where I want to? Or maybe the simplest way would be to use window manipulation on Girder itself on startup?
    Tor - managing director of the Cinema Inferno home theater and multi-zone sound system with Girder running the show in the back, NetRemote as the GUI and Media Center 17, PowerDVD and ZoomPlayer as playback software
    Hobsyssel mastiffs: http://www.hobsyssel.no

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 1998
    Location
    Jupiter, FL
    Posts
    13,550

    Default

    IIRC Girder stores it's location in the registry. Why that is failing for those Windows on Windows 7 is not clear to me. Try running as admin set the positions correctly close Girder fully and restart, hope for the best.
    Ron
    No support through PM

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Risør - Norway
    Posts
    5,477

    Default

    Nope, did not help, I'm afraid. I even copied the reg settings from the XP VM where it worked, and it didn't even open the logger and console. So I tried making a quick and dirty solution with sending F4 to Girder as a keystroke and then moving and resizing the logger window. Weirdly enough I had to use "match foreground task", I couldn't target the Girder main window. Is there a sub window I should really be targeting?
    Tor - managing director of the Cinema Inferno home theater and multi-zone sound system with Girder running the show in the back, NetRemote as the GUI and Media Center 17, PowerDVD and ZoomPlayer as playback software
    Hobsyssel mastiffs: http://www.hobsyssel.no

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    370

    Default

    I've had this issue for ages, already on WinXP. Gave up on it.

    (also running Win7 x64 these days)
    Using: Win7 MCE, Girder, xPL, RFXcom, HomeEasy

    http://www.thijsschreijer.nl

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •