Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Events either delayed or not getting through to Girder

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    21

    Question Events either delayed or not getting through to Girder

    Hi,

    I've upgraded to a new computer earlier this year and as such am continually installing new programs to get back up to speed. Girder was one of the 1st to be installed and once set up properly was working well. However somewhere along the line something happened which has resulted in events either being delayed, or prevented altogether, from getting to Girder.

    Here's a video that shows what's going on:

    https://youtu.be/cvLYH5wrCp4

    I usually trigger events with my voice recognition software calling csevent with the relevant arguments, but used a batch file in the video for illustrative purposes, the behaviour is exactly the same. If I run the file then the event may get to Girder straight away, within a couple of seconds, or not at all (which is mostly what happens).

    Any idea Ron what may be causing this weird behaviour?

    Thanks, Tom

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 1998
    Location
    Jupiter, FL
    Posts
    13,553

    Default

    I've looked at your video and recreated the batch file here but I am unable to recreate the delay you are seeing. Is your Girder instance doing something at that time? Maybe a blocking script? Can you turn on the keyboard input plugin and run your test again after you click "open" on the batch file just press a few keys and see if those do arrive in the event log. Also try running the batch file from a command prompt and see if you are getting any errors.
    Ron
    No support through PM

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    21

    Default

    Hi Ron,

    I turned on keyboard input and came up with this video:

    https://youtu.be/OvGEhWiPBxw

    It seems to be running in a cycle, 15 seconds of no response, then five seconds of normal response. It buffers all of the keypresses in the 15 seconds of not responding. However it only seems to buffer 5 or so seconds of csevent.exe events, in addition to 5 seconds of normal response.

    I restarted my computer with every start-up item disabled and it still happened. Also disabled Windows Defender without effect.

    Weird!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 1998
    Location
    Jupiter, FL
    Posts
    13,553

    Default

    Can you disable all plugins, but the keyboard plugin and then see if it still does it. If it still is having trouble 'disable' all GMLs (right click on the toplevel action tree nodes and uncheck "enabled").
    Ron
    No support through PM

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    21

    Default

    Still having the same problem with all plug-ins disabled, the same with disabling GMLs.

    Interestingly there is also the occasional big delay when I am disabling and enabling plug-ins. But there is no delay when I click to scroll the plug-in window. Video here: https://youtu.be/GrG5jd0_7Ro

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    21

    Default

    Hi Ron, I'm still having this problem with Girder. Starting to get a bit frustrating! Did you have any thoughts on what might be going on? Anything else I can try to help troubleshoot it? Thanks, Tom

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 1998
    Location
    Jupiter, FL
    Posts
    13,553

    Default

    Are you running the ZWave plugin?
    Ron
    No support through PM

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    21

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ron View Post
    Are you running the ZWave plugin?
    Yes I am, but this problem started before I had installed it.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 1998
    Location
    Jupiter, FL
    Posts
    13,553

    Default

    Can you make the delay happen regularly enough that I could see it in a remote session? If so I'd like to try that when we are back, I'm on the road for at least a week or two still unfortunately.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    21

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ron View Post
    Can you make the delay happen regularly enough that I could see it in a remote session? If so I'd like to try that when we are back, I'm on the road for at least a week or two still unfortunately.
    Yes it is always behaving the same way so can definitely demonstrate it in a remote session. Just let me know when, I'm in Australia so hopefully can get around time zones for a time that suits.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •