Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26

Thread: Netremote Dynamic - Replace a Button with an image?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    240

    Default Netremote Dynamic - Replace a Button with an image?

    How can I completely replace a button with an image in NRD? If I enter an image in the button properties, it just overlays that image over the button. I want the button to BE the image... Right now I can make all of the button colors clear, and remove the caption, but the grey outline of the button remains. How do I get rid of that as well so all I see is the image?

  2. #2

    Default

    If you are using NRD on a Windows device edit ControlProperties.qml see post #3

    C:\Program Files\Promixis\Girder 6\ui\dynamicButtons\ControlProperties.qml

    Edited file
    ControlProperties.qml
    Last edited by Yoggi; January 5th, 2017 at 10:46 AM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    240

    Default

    Perfect thanks!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    240

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Yoggi View Post
    If you are using NRD on a Windows device edit ControlProperties.qml see post #3

    C:\Program Files\Promixis\Girder 6\ui\dynamicButtons\ControlProperties.qml

    Edited file
    ControlProperties.qml

    After doing some testing with this modified file, I discovered something weird. If I set the border size to "0" (making the button completely transparent) it works however if I navigate away to another page and then come back to the page with the button, the border returns to the button. Like the value does not save if you leave the page and come back. Any idea why that is happening or how to fix it?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    240

    Default

    Another question... is it also possible to toggle between two images on a device manager button? For example, replace the button with an image of a light bulb. When light is on, display a yellow light bulb image. When light is off, display a grey light bulb image?

  6. #6

    Default

    I think we need to figure out how NRD saves values and were. If you export a NRD page everything is in tabels/lists, maybe kv values are used. I noticed from my page export that border property is missing and there for is gone when the page is reloded (when one goes back).

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    240

    Default

    Hopefully Ron will read this and respond with a fix. I posted this same request in your other thread as well.

    NR Dynamic is good but it just needs a little more care and feeding to be great. I am still running G5 with the old Netremote simply because the touch screen interface I was able to create with NR Designer is something I still cannot exactly replicate using Dynamic. Designer had a bit of a learning curve but it still did not really require any coding skills for the most part (something I cannot do). There is no way I can use QML, that's way out of my league. I voiced these concerns about a year ago and sadly there hasn't been much of any further progress on NRD since then. I thought I'd give Dynamic another go but I still am unable to fully commit and make the switch to G6.

    FYI - all of those KV buttons and sliders - those were added by Ron following my original requests after playing with NRD... a thread that has received almost 10,000 views since my first post back on April 22, 2015!!

    https://www.promixis.com/forums/show...ghlight=jndreu

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 1998
    Location
    Jupiter, FL
    Posts
    13,551

    Default

    NRD saves all it's values as JSON tables in the KV system.

    The design goal for NRD was to create a simple to use front-end for Girder. Simple to use precludes have a lot of options to change things. So if you need something that is not in there at the moment you might have graduated to the next level! The next level can be one of two things.

    1. You can change the source code of NRD (It's just .qml files).
    2. You can build from scratch, QML is very powerful and you can create exactly what you want! Without a compiler or other investment. It's a markup language with embedded Javascript.
    Ron
    No support through PM

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    240

    Default

    I don't know what a JSON table is... hopefully Yoggi does! ...or better yet, if you can release a new version of NRD that would allow for the removal of the border on the buttons so we only see the image?

    And per my other question - is it also possible to toggle between two images on a device manager button? For example, replace the button with an image of a light bulb. When light is on, display a yellow light bulb image. When light is off, display a grey light bulb image?

  10. #10

    Default

    Hi Ron and jndreu,

    I have manage to edit the NDR files (ControlProperties.qml, DynamicButtons.qml & EditableRectangle.qml) in order to save the invisible border (border.width 0). I still have some small issues that I hope I can correct, and when I do I will upload the edited files.

    I never planed on using NRD for my final solution, it's merely a stopgap solution for me but for other users NRD might be essential.

    Making changes to NRD files as I understand it is only possible on Window devices (maybe Linux devices) where one can get to the code. On Android devices from what I have manage to deduct this is not possible as the NDR files are included in the app download.

    I always planed on using a NetRemote with custom qml files but I am now considering dropping Girder all together.

    My problems with NetRemote/Girder

    A. NetRemote custom user interface requires a web server to serve the qml files.

    Why not use the already existing NetRemote Girder connection.
    I don't want to run a web server on my system as I want to minimize risks.

    B. Custom user interface requires a NetRemote Dynamic page with a button to load the qml files.

    I would want a more professional looking solution were my user interface is the fist screen I see (not a connect to Girder and then a NRD intermediate screen with one button to take me to my user interface).

    Couldn’t this be achieved with a configuration file of some sort that stores Girders location and what qml file to load? From what I can see ios can retrive a config file.


    I still think uploading the qml files to NetRemote would be the nicest solution. ios has iTunes File Sharing for apps and Android has the capability to upload files. Yes I understand that the code base for NR is the same (ios and Android) and that it would need to deviate her but it would be so much more professional looking.

    I am still dreaming of a NetRemote module, see earlier request below! I think this would be a great addition for more advanced users that would like to make professional looking remote interfaces for any mobile platform.

    https://www.promixis.com/forums/show...558#post150558

    C. As I not a programer I find the incomplete examples in the documentation frustrating.

    One example of the top of my head is regarding the qml web server example were information regarding the file named "qlmdir" was missing.

    https://www.promixis.com/forums/show...012#post153012


    Don't get me wrong, I really like Girder. As I mention before I am not a programer and I understand that I wouldn’t stand a chance of achieving what I want if it wasn’t for a program like Girder.

    I am technically savvy enough to understand that Girder can do all I want it to do but it's frustrated that I can't achieving what do to lack in documentation and good examples.

    I wonder how many potential customer/users that are like me (technically savvy but not programmer) that you might be missing out on?

    I am still hoping that Girder will take me were I want to go as it is still the best all-round solution I have come across!

    Regards

    Joachim
    Last edited by Yoggi; January 8th, 2017 at 12:02 PM. Reason: added bold text

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •